New boss

12/10/2009 at 7:31 pm | Posted in Belly to Butterfly | 2 Comments
Tags:

(This is part of the Belly to Butterfly series, written by my sis Laura.)

This is my new boss.

Don’t let those eyes fool you…she’s tough.

A month before I had my daughter I was laid off. (The really sad part of that event is that I really liked my job and the people I worked with, so it was more than just about the money…although unemployment doesn’t buy too many diapers these days!)

I had the flexibility to: decide my hours, eat my lunch whenever or wherever I wanted, work from home once a week, have flex Fridays during the summer and enjoy an additional three weeks of vacation. Ahhh, them were the days.

My new boss is very demanding of my time. (Dolly, this ain’t no 9 to 5…try 24/7!) My work day bleeds into my work night. I eat when she’s asleep or content. I have to pump to buy my freedom. I wipe up her continuous flow of drool, pee and poop. If she wants to nibble on my fingers, I have to let her. She’ll scream otherwise.

I have to chauffeur her around, give her sponge baths, wake up several times in the night to feed her, make a fool of myself to entertain her and even pick her nose for her.

I want a raise.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. O is amazing. I cannot believe I have not seen her. Perhaps a visit tomorrow morning?

  2. Just look a that face…What’s not to love 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

