The city

12/10/2009 at 7:35 pm | Posted in Friends, Travel | 2 Comments
Tags:

I love New York City, especially at Christmas. The lights, the tree, the smell of real chestnuts roasting, the window displays. Even the crowds. Love it all.

For the last decade, give or take a year or two, my pal Julie and I have made an annual December trip to New York. We shop and sightsee and eat (and eat some more). Not only is this trip a wonderful opportunity to catch up with old friends, it’s also a chance to reconnect with a city I find fascinating.

I arrived today, after an hour delay on the tarmac at RDU, and spent the afternoon with my friend Kristen and her family. As I type, she and her husband are wrangling two very wound-up little boys for bedtime.

I miss Small Fry and M pretty badly. But at the same time, I’m so excited to be here that I haven’t stopped smiling.

Tomorrow, I’m off to meet Julie at Grand Central Station. Our adventure will begin, no doubt, with a meal.

I’ll be back to pretty*swell on Monday, with an armload of stories and photos. Also, stay tuned for a little holiday surprise from me to you, starting next week.

Hope you have a happy weekend!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m jealous! If you ever want to add to the group, I would totally go. Always wanted to see NYC at Christmas time! Enjoy!

  2. Happy Happy! Enjoy…sounds like soooo much fun!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

