Dairy Diaries

02/11/2010 at 11:17 am | Posted in Belly to Butterfly | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

(This is part of the Belly to Butterfly series, by my sis Laura.)

I never thought I’d have this to post, but here are five things I love about breastfeeding. (And don’t worry, O is 6 months old, not 6 years.)

I love it when she:

1. finishes, puts her hands behind her head, closes her eyes, crosses her feet and sighs contently
2. stops abruptly, looks up at me shyly and smiles…then gets back to business
3. gets all up in my grill…she’ll spoon me with one leg and put her hand in my shirt rubbing her face with it
4. holds my chin or just kind of pats my face…as if patting a dog…to say “good mommy, good job.”
5. takes my hand and holds it to her face, squinching up her eyes and pressing it to her forehead doing her best Scarlett O’ Hara impresonation

Always the Gemini, here’s the other side of nursing …

Five things I miss out on because of breastfeeding:

1. Caffeine, especially in the form of large quantities of chocolate
2. Alcohol…I’m just saying, a margarita hits the spot sometimes
3. Sleep
4. Freedom
5. Boobs that stay in the Northern Hemisphere

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The first one on your love list made me chuckle. I have this mental image of a baby in a beach lounger kickin’ it. If you really want to have alcohol you certainly could. I know it’s a personal decision and it often depends on how often she nurses. But, the alcohol leaves your milk the same as it leaves your blood stream. So, you could have a drink after nursing if you know you have a few hours before you have to nurse again. Just wanted to throw that out there. I nursed for 8 months and after being alcohol free for so long during pregnancy, I had to have a beer!

    This website was very helpful to me when I was nursing – http://www.kellymom.com/health/lifestyle/alcohol.html

  2. Ooh, thanks for the advice and the okay! I’ll admit, I have a beer occasionally and a glass of wine when necessary (when is it not necessary though?). For now I’m steering clear of the hard stuff…after so long I’m not sure I could handle it! I’m a big fan of the kellymom site…I used it when I got a stomach bug and needed to know which meds were okay while nursing. Very helpful. Thanks!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

