Swell Stuff {Take me to the Mardi Gras}

02/16/2010 at 9:13 pm | Posted in Swell Stuff | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

Fat Tuesday has a special place in my heart. And not just because it gives me license to eat like a glutton. Which I’ve been doing, by the way, all day. Just polished a chocolate-chip cookie the size of my face. Classy.

You see, I had the chance to go to Mardi Gras twice. In college. And I actually remember most of it!

I played club water polo, and Tulane University always hosted a tournament during Mardi Gras. Let me just say that the ultimate cure to any hangover is jumping into an ice-cold pool at 8 in the morning. My body was in shock the entire time, what with all the revelry AND the hard core water-treading. But hey, alcohol dragon breath made for a highly effective defense in the pool.

Every year since then, on Fat Tuesday I smile to myself, send a silent shout (or an e-mail, if I’m on my game) to my girls and savor the cloudy memories of all the ridiculous fun we got into in New Orleans.

Happy Mardi Gras! Now go eat something bad for you.

Beads, of course! (by earlybird creations)

Purple + gold + bling = Mardi Gras (by BLink Design)

Pay the cover. You won't regret it. (by Briole Photography)

A party for your ears! (by Work of Heart)

Louis Armstrong? Say no more. (by The Devil Strip)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

