Shaun White + “extra tomato” = love

02/18/2010 at 12:09 pm | Posted in Watch this! | 1 Comment
Tags: , , ,

Shaun White is pretty much the only reason I’ve been watching the Winter Olympics. The wild hair, the huge toothy smile, the talk of “putting it down” in his trademark boarder slang. Not to mention the ridiculously unbelievable stunts he pulls off in the half-pipe.

I’m totally smitten.

So you’d think I’d be able to keep my eyes open long enough last night to watch him win gold. I just couldn’t do it (for the record, in addition to my general mommy-tiredness, a cold has been dogging me all week).

I knew that as soon as I opened the Web this morning at work, I’d see the headlines. His gold medal is no surprise. I willed myself not to watch the highlights. To wait until I got home tonight to crank up the DVR and try to replicate the experience of seeing it for the first time.

But, y’all, I’m weak. When this video floated across Twitter, I couldn’t not take a peek. I wish I could embed it here, but no luck.

I did a little digging on YouTube and found this fun clip of Shaun tearing it up as an 11-year-old. Uh-mazing.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more! I made it through his first run last night but couldn’t stay awake for his second run. Since he went last in the group, it was SO clear that he was on a completely different level than anyone else who was competing. When we woke up this morning, I MADE Heath watch the highlights on the news with me. 🙂 That video of him is great!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

