Weep to sleep

02/22/2010 at 4:11 pm | Posted in Belly to Butterfly | 6 Comments
Tags: ,

(This is part of the Belly to Butterfly series, by my sis Laura.)

Well, it’s finally here. O is 7 months old and we’re knee-deep in sleep training. Ech!

I’ve been dreading this period of momhood more than I can say.  Up to this point I though the hardest thing was keeping her claw-like nails dull, but that’s ice cream cake in comparison.

I blame it on Parents magazine. I read an article about sleep training a few nights ago and discovered we could be doing a lot more to help get O closer to the Holy Grail…sleeping through the night.

Plus, I realized we’d created this little Frankenstein who will be snoring and on the verge of sleep-crawling, but when upon resting her plump little cheek on her sheet will roll over, make eye contact and start to cry.

(You remember how she was sick last week and I was having this super-connected, amazing mom time with her by rocking her to sleep and continuing to rock her as she slumbered?! Bad, bad, bad me.)

We took the mobile out of her crib, started massaging her before putting pjs on, read stories to her in the rocker, put her to sleep earlier, don’t rock her into a coma-like state after she nurses, and horribly, are letting her cry for a bit after we close the door.

All I have to say is thank goodness for my book light and Mary Kay Andrews.  Luckily, O doesn’t cry long and it’s more of an occasional cry, occasional yell/talk/Indian chief chant thing she does. The longest she (i.e. me) lasted was 15 minutes…so for that I’m really thankful.

To be perfectly honest and snarky, this is one of those issues that I don’t really want to talk about with other moms because I already feel guilty as heck and don’t need any added. But I also, selfishly, want you all to say “It’s okay. It’ll be worth it.”

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Okay, I’m going to be the first one (of many, I’m sure) to say it: It will TOTALLY be worth it. Crying it out is a tough, personal decision. For us, it worked. I will forever swear by it!

  2. I have no experience in this as a mom, though I do have plenty as a babysitter. From what I can tell, it’s all worth it and sometimes you just have to let ’em cry it out. Remind me of this someday when I have a newborn? 🙂

  3. Only you know your child! One of the best lessons I learned over the first year with Oscar was how to trust my mama instincts. Getting Oscar to be a good sleeper was crucial for us as I needed to be rested in order to be the mom he needs. Hang in there! It sounds like you are doing a great job.

  4. Do what is best for YOUR family and don’t let anyone tell you different. I think I read every sleep book under the sun, but ultimately I had to realize that I knew what would work for my son. All the books and advice in the world are nothing compared to your gut instinct.

  5. I have a baby about this age, and we let her cry and it has worked well. It sure beats getting up to get the pacifier every hour or so. We also started giving her a bath every night, we used to only do one every other night, and it really seems to help her fall asleep. By the way, I’m jealous of O’s hair!

  6. Man, you all rock! Remind me not to doubt you again.

    I feel like I just need to figure out the best method and stick to it. I hate the willy nilly looseness of the whole thing. Sleep is waaaay to important to mess with and I know it’s not doing her any good if she doesn’t get the best sleep she can get. Plus my job search is getting a bit more serious and I really can’t comprehend trying to work a 2nd job (momhood being the 1st!) with the interrupted sleep I’m getting.

    So thanks for your encouragement and advice! It’s all about the gut when it comes to being a mom. Need to trust it more!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

