Weekend bliss

03/04/2010 at 9:57 am | Posted in Belly to Butterfly | 5 Comments

(This is part of the Belly to Butterfly series, by my sis Laura. And the late posting is totally my fault. Slacker!)

I had a great weekend. It was one of those that just makes you feel content in your little world and so damn lucky.

Highlights:

  1. Date night with C: burgers, fries, beers, people watching and non-baby conversation.
  2. O’s first friend-birthday party. I fell in love with a boy named Dean…about 2 months older than O, wearing a tight “Green Eggs and Ham” shirt, and rocking the wooden blocks.
  3. Hung out on the swings at our local park where we met Christopher and Randall.  Randall took one appraising look at C and said confidently, “I want you to push me.” C is a very good pusher.
  4. Bought a carved wooden whale on wheels at a consignment shop for O….$3=sold.
  5. Movie night at my folks place…my dad, Suzanne, and I enjoyed a laughing fit until we got hushed by my mom who was kindly putting Small Fry to sleep…sorry mom!
  6. Spontaneous bagels and coffee breakfast with our neighbors.  I went for the everything bagel…cream cheese and slices of tomato Heaven.
  7. Re: #2 and #6…have realized how much O (and C!) helps me get out of my introverted shell and feel more brave walking into a party or house of new friends.  I have an instant conversation piece in my hands.  At one point during our bagel bash, O proudly (and loudly) pooted…telling me in her own way, “It’s okay to just be yourself Mom.”
  8. The three of us went for a long walk through our favorite historic neighborhood to find some inspiration for our own home’s curb appeal.
  9. Dinner and Apple Brown Betty with C’s sis and hubby.  Is it a Martha faux pas to scarf down more dinner than your guests?!  I blame it on nursing. It’s my go-to excuse for seconds and thirds.
  10. Small Fry’s amazing laugh during our post-bath, belly zerbert-fest.  At one point she points to her belly button and says, “Aunt Raura, righ heah.” (That’s “right here” in southern toddler talk.)
  11. Great conversation with an old friend.  Even though Jeff’s cell tried to dissuade us by dropping our call, we persevered, redialed and continued the comfort of an easy chat between good friends.

…all this topped off with Sunday night’s full moon and Shaun White highlights from the Olympics. My wine glass runneth over.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great post! Sounds perfect 🙂

  2. Not quite a weekend in Mexico like you…but perfect for us! =)

  3. It was a great dinner on Friday! Thanks for having us over!!

  4. Suzanne,

    As much as I enjoyed reading Laura’s latest entry, I couldn’t help but notice your reference to yourself as a ‘slacker.’ And I must tell you – GIVE YOURSELF A BREAK! You’ve been traveling (came to see me), you slept in a bed that even though was comfy, wasn’t your own, you have a cough that won’t go away, a close family member who just passed away, a j-o-b, a husband, AND a 2-year-old. Should I continue?

    So there will be no name-calling – that’s my sister-in-law you’re talking about! And no one calls her a slacker!

    Kisses and hugs!

    Amy

    • You are too much! Thanks for the reminder. 🙂 Love you!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

