A television birth that’s (gasp) not all rainbows and sunshine

03/05/2010 at 4:27 pm | Posted in Celebri-tastic, Thinking | 5 Comments
Tags: , ,

I have a rare free moment while Small Fry sleeps (thank you, antibiotics) so of course, I’m going to spend it here on the Internet rather than face my dirty carpet or even dirtier bathrooms. Motherhood has taught me to prioritize, y’all. Do more of what makes me happy. Cleaning can wait.

There. Guilt has been rationalized into oblivion. Moving on.

Last night’s episode of “The Office” has looped through my mind all day. Did you see it? Pam and Jim had their baby, and I really think it was one of the best episodes ever.

Aside from the fact that it was ridiculously funny (Michael having to wash his eyes after barging into Pam’s room during labor nearly made me pee my pants), the show depicted birth in a way not too common for Hollywood, which typically tends to gloss over the real stuff and portray a glowing mama and peacefully sleeping perfect baby.

I was so pleasantly surprised to watch Jim and Pam struggle to swaddle their screaming newborn. To empathize with insecurity over breastfeeding. To laugh over the delirious night-feeding that was oh so wrong. Even the portrayal of the hospital discharge was completely relatable: screaming baby, car-seat wielding dad, indifferent hospital attendant.

The whole thing was funny and touching and surprisingly real. And it ended beautifully, with a genuine triumph for mama and baby.

What did you think? Did you love it … hate it?

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I wish I saw it! I usually wait till it comes out on disc. So now you’ve got me really looking forward to it. 🙂

  2. I only saw the first half but couldn’t believe the reality. I remember C & I actually buzzed the nurse anxiously because O wasn’t crying. That’s right…not crying. That’s how panicked and clueless we were. And the breasteeding and the crappy room and the swaddling…don’t get me started. Can’t wait to watch the episode in entirety and a BIG thanks to the clever, real and touching writing. Well done!

  3. I loved it. I keep saying whoever wrote it must have had a baby really recently. Not 5 years ago, not 10 years ago, not even 2 years ago, but in the last couple months. Or maybe they’ve been reading my blog 🙂 It was so real it made me cry, especially the rude nurse (“oh good you know everything”) and the breastfeeding struggles.

  4. I totally agree with you! Except having a male lactation consultant wasn’t too realistic- nevertheless, I couldn’t stop laughing during that part!

  5. I loved it, too. My husband agreed it was one of the most realistic depictions we have seen, especially the breastfeeding struggle. I cried as she waited for Jim to go get the car, remembering how scary it felt to be leaving the hospital.

    For those who missed it, you can watch it on hulu.com!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

