Baptism and baby cows

03/14/2010 at 8:25 pm | Posted in Family | 4 Comments

This past weekend swallowed me up in a big, warm hug. The kind you get a little lost in because it’s so vast and comforting.

We went to my grandparents’ farm in the mountains for baby O’s Baptism, and all of the togetherness and laughter and stick-to-your-ribs food set my soul straight.

Even in the middle of what has been one of the bleakest, nastiest winters on record in North Carolina, the farm is beautiful. The air is different up there. The stars seem bigger.

The day we arrived, a calf had been born. So after dinner my Nana’s husband Bobby led some of us into the dark barn to check out mama and her new baby. We crept quietly behind Bobby, trying to keep up with the skinny beam of his flashlight. Seeing those cows just about made me cry. The baby wobbled after her mama on legs she didn’t yet know how to use.

Small Fry was awestruck. She blurted out, “Hi cows. This is Bobby.” As if to say, don’t worry, he’s going to take care of you.

The Baptism took place in the same tiny church where Small Fry, Laura and I were baptized. My grandparents were married in that church, and it was there that we said goodbye to my Poppi nine years ago. Not much about it has changed, and I can’t tell you how comforting it was to sit in the same pew I used to play in as a child, watching Nana play the organ in the same little nook she sat in years ago.

Baby O was a dream and kept us smiling and laughing the whole time, all wayward curls and fluffy white gown.

I’m so content right now, you could punch me in the stomach and I wouldn’t mind.

Thank you, weekend.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What a great story! You had me right there, watching Baby O get baptized. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Thanks! It was such a wonderful weekend. I couldn’t wait to share it.

  2. Wow. Thanks for the awesome post sis. It was so amazing being up on that mountain with O. Felt like she was officially being initiated into our family and traditions. I think my favorite part of the Baptism was when she was feeling kind of shy and just sucked her thumb and held my hair. Made me feel the awe of being a mama.

  3. Aw! You made me feel happy reading this post! It sounds like a great place for a Baptism. Congratulations to little O 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

