Work Force(d)

03/31/2010 at 10:14 am | Posted in Belly to Butterfly | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

(This is part of Belly to Butterfly, by my sis Laura.)

As March comes to a close, I once again am in a funk about the looming end to my “extended maternity leave” (i.e. unemployment). It has been really, really amazing having this time with my daughter, and it saddens me that sometime soon I’ll have to join the tons of parents who don’t see their children nearly enough.

Why couldn’t I have been famous like Julia Roberts so that I could take my children with me on location, or be Kim Gordon of Sonic Youth so that I can pack up my little bundles for my next tour?! Damn my non-famous abilities.

The other night C and I had this amazing discussion about jobs, life and finding the balance that we want. C has recently come to terms that he’s not “selling out,” as he likes his job and the people he works with, even if it’s in dreaded corporate America. He’s a musician by night and weekend and defines his success by the fact that he’s still creating music he loves. Also a lover of history and writing, he’s figuring out a new schedule where he can write every week.

(I’ve politely asked him to go ahead and pump out the next great American novel so we can both create from home. I’m waaaiiiting…)

We live in a small house in an amazing downtown neighborhood. Basically, we want to make enough money to live here, raise a couple of kids, get back to Italy someday and have some extra cash for important things like cured meats and hydrangea bushes.

I’m extremely lucky to have a partner who puts pressure on me to do what makes me happy and who sees outside the 9-to-5 box. When I was thinking “okay, I just need to find a crap job to make some money,” C was saying, “Why not go for what you really want?”

What I really want is to have a life full of family, friends, creativity, volunteering and money-making productivity. My work ethic isn’t screwed up, as I used to think, it’s just that I think work should be a part of my life…not my whole life.

So for as long as I can I’m going to squeeze O, go for walks pointing out tulips and bumble bees, take care of our home so our weekends can be pure fun and make the most of this time where my little bubble doesn’t involve asking for vacation or calling in sick because I want to watch O’s new trick all day.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

