When one door closes …

05/01/2010 at 3:39 pm | Posted in Bloggy | 10 Comments

Another one opens, right?

There’s no pretty way to say this, so here goes: I didn’t win the Mabel’s Labels BlogHer contest. They announced today that Stacey from Tree, Root, and Twig is the big winner. And if you read her beautiful essay, it’s easy to see why.

Not only is she a great writer, she seems like a really nice person. Stacey was the first of the other finalists to comment on my essay after the top 10 were announced. I think that says a lot about her.

But I’d be lying if I said my heart didn’t drop when I read the news, after sprinting in 85-degree heat to the Mac store because I was out during the announcement and am the only blogger on the face of the planet without a smart phone.

And I’d be lying if I said I haven’t been thinking about this almost every day since I sent my entry two months ago.

SO bummed.

But, I’m proud of my essay. And really proud to have made the top 10.

Back to that door, right?

Another opportunity will come along, and I’ll dive right in.

And I know when I do, you guys will be right there with me, just like the last time. THANK YOU for all of your awesome comments, Tweets, hugs and support when I entered the contest. Y’all rock.

Just as Pedro says so wisely from his perch along I-95: we’re all “wieners,” after all.

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I know all about when the heart drops, and had fully prepared myself for that feeling this time. I’ve been there a dozen or so times before. I’m glad you are still looking for that other door to open, because that’s what this win has finally been for me – that other door (so see…it happens!). 🙂 Thank you so much for your kind words – I really do appreciate it – and know that the prayers I had for myself last night were echoed for every one of the other entrants. Any one of us would have been deserving, and I would have been happy for all.

    By the way, you are not the only blogger without a smart phone. 😉 Apparently Caitlin from Mabel’s Labels was trying to hunt me down before she finally got me at my son’s soccer game. “Have you been online?!” she asked me. Uh…no, sorry! 😉

    • | In reply to Stacey @ Tree, Root, and Twig.

      Well, if that isn’t the nicest note. Thank you! I’m excited to read all about your experience at BlogHer and as part of the Mabelhood! Have fun!!

  2. GIRL! Such a bummer! All the entries were stellar but I know that letdown feeling. Sometimes I don’t even enter contests because I am so afraid of that feeling.

    Good for you that you didn’t let the fear stop you! Here’s to door #2!

    • | In reply to Andrea.

      Thanks, Andrea! I might still try to beg/borrow/steal a BlogHer ticket. Will keep you posted if I have any luck. 🙂

  3. Sis, you are one incredible chick! You are on this amazing path with P.Swell and I truly believe the right doors will open when it’s the right time. All those other ones are just good reminders to stay focused on the possibilities that lie ahead and the (tutu-esque) treasures that are bringing you (and all of us!) joy in the present. Love you!

    • Okay, now I’m getting teary. Thanks, sis. I love you!

  4. You are awesome no matter what and you are right: we will all be there for you at the next door, and the next, and the next, and the next…

  5. “To laugh often and much; to appreciate beauty; to find the best in others; to leave the world a bit better…to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded.” (Emerson) You may not have won the blogging contest, but you have definitely succeeded in helping other moms breathe easier. How awesome! Dad and I are immensely proud of you.

    • | In reply to Mom / Nonna.

      Thanks, Mom! I love you.

  6. Your post was so wonderful and it’s such an accomplishment to have made it into the top 10! Keep your chin up– that door will open soon enough!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

