Wax on, wax off

05/04/2010 at 10:22 am | Posted in Belly to Butterfly | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

(This is part of Belly to Butterfly, by my sis Laura.)

I just finished reading Heather Armstrong’s book, “It Sucked and Then I Cried.” It’s been a really neat thing to read as I could relate to a lot of those crazy newborn days and am once again reminded that I’m not alone….this parenting thing is hard.

Patience is something I’m working on acquiring…but it’s not coming fast enough. So I have a bad habit of seeing folks way down the road from my circumstance and comparing myself to them.

It’s like my habit while reading a shelter magazine, “Country Living” being my choice of poison these days. I can’t get but a few pages in without wanting to paint every wooden piece in the house or start a collection of hat boxes. I have to remind myself that the houses they’re highlighting didn’t come out of the wrapper like that and instead had an average of 10 years worth of work done on them…or the owners just happen to be an architect married to an interior designer.

It’s been good going back to Dooce’s beginnings as it wasn’t all HGTV, White House visits and laughing it off.  It was sleepless nights, confusing baby signals and a marriage that didn’t always get that prime spot on the front burner. Like Suzanne and other moms, Dooce had a hard road to travel and whatever reward she’s getting at the end of her tunnel is karma at its finest. I wish the same for us all…especially the HGTV deal…that’s like “Country Living”-awesome times a gazillion!

In the meantime, I’m going to live in the present. Because, yeah, there’s some great stuff ahead but now is when O presses her face against mine as she sucks her thumb…now is when she’s up for whatever adventure I have in store for us (no questions asked and no complaints made!)…and now is the past that I’ll someday look back on fondly.

I want to make it a really awesome memory!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

