New digs + SUPER SWELL giveaway!

05/13/2010 at 10:00 am | Posted in Bloggy | 77 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

Welcome to the new pretty*swell!!!

You guys, I’m SO excited! Can’t stop typing exclamation points!!!

!!!!!!!!!!

Mad props to Dionne from Studio Chic Design for creating this site. Not only does she have the patience of Job, but she is terribly creative and just plain fun. When I saw the first concept, with little Gert (my new mascot) perched at the top of the page, I knew I’d found the right person to build a new home for pretty*swell. Thank you, Dionne! You rock like bacon times a million.

It’s funny. Most of my favorite blog designs are minimalist. Sleek. Sophisticated. But, when it came down to creating the best representation of ME, we went all-out with color, fun fonts and more color. Then I got to load up the sidebars with all kinds of goodies. So in a way, you’re getting a peek into this wacky brain of mine: a little of this, a little of that. A WHOLE LOT of chaos.

Soooo, now it’s time to party. Bacon-style.

That’s right, y’all. Your wildest bacon dreams are about to come true.

I present you the extra-greasy, crispy-fried Great Big Bacon Giveaway!

Can I get a WHAT-WHAT?!

All of these awesome goods are handmade by talented artists with shops on Etsy. (I can’t thank you guys enough for sponsoring this giveaway and for your excitement over the new blog launch.) I received no compensation for this giveaway, besides a warm fuzzy bacon-y feeling. I’m proud to support independent artists and handmade goods!

1. T Rex Dreaming of Bacon shirt (or tote bag) by megan lee designs. Read more about Megan here. Also: Twitter | Facebook

2. Breakfast play food set by Kid-N Around Creations. Check out Lori here and here. Also: Twitter | Facebook

3. Sunny Side Up felt applique bodysuit by Happy Felties. Meet Mary. Also: Facebook.

4. Bacon is Like a Little Hug from God art insert by Nicodemus Green. Read about Nic here and here.

5. King of Meats print by water bears. Tim is a man of few words. Read them here.

6. Bacon and Egg twinzies by KLZart. Check out Kelly here and here. Also: Facebook

7. Bacon Pecan Praline by Maggie May Bacon Sweets. (Maggie is new to Etsy. Send her some love!)

8. Bacon is Like a Little Hug from God art insert by Nicodemus Green.

To enter the giveaway, leave a comment below. You can tell us what you had for lunch yesterday, your favorite Golden Girl, why you love breakfast meat. Whatever you’d like. You’ll be eligible to win any of the prizes above — like a yummy bacon grab-bag, they’ll be chosen at random. For extra chances to win, you also can do any of the following things (and don’t forget to leave a separate comment for each):

> Subscribe to the brand-spankin’-new pretty*swell
> Follow pretty*swell on Twitter
>Tweet about this giveaway (Like: “I’d better win me some bacon on the kick-ass @pretty_swell giveaway.”)
>Add any of these shops to your Etsy “favorites” (this counts as ONE entry/comment below, no matter how many shops you “favorite”)

The Great Big Bacon Giveaway ends on Thursday, May 20, at midnight EST. I’ll use random.org to choose the winners. Have fun!!

77 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Love the new site! Since you know what I had for lunch yesterday, I’ll just say my fave Golden Girl was Dorothy. (It’s so trendy to like Rose these days!) I’m sure Bea Arthur would have appreciated the Great Big Bacon Giveaway, and Pretty Swell!

  2. ZOMG. BACON.

    I had pancakes for breakfast. & a glass of milk. But I forgot to eat my banana. Oops.

  3. and you know I follow you on Twitter ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Congrats on the new site, Suzanne! It definitely makes me smile – and I think it’s a great reflection of what you bring to the blog world! These bacon prizes are perfect – as were ALL the Golden Girls, in my opinion! Happy Thursday!

  5. Kid-N Around is totally in my favorites.

  6. Tweeted. lol.

  7. & I subscribe like whoa.

  8. LOVE LOVE LOVE Sofia! And I think I had Subway for lunch yesterday. Pretty sure. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I’m a Twitter follower!

    @gsc418

  10. I’m a new follower/subscriber!

  11. I tweeted!

  12. Bacon from God poster is my favorite!!

  13. I tweeted!

  14. I follow you on twitter!

  15. I had Canadian Bacon for breakfast – not nearly as good as good old fashioned smothered in fat bacon!

  16. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Andrea Ashby, Melissa C and Melyssa Allen, Suzanne. Suzanne said: Letโ€™s party!! Brand-new pretty*swell + ultimate BACON giveaway featuring @Etsy artists: http://bit.ly/cw5wnj […]

  17. Love myself some bacon! Yesterday I had left over mexi-lasagna for lunch, Rose is my favorite girl and A perfect morning does consist of bacon eggs, tea and the paper! Love your blog!

  18. Following you on twitter

  19. I LOVE the new look. Congratulations!! I am a new friend of bacon. We parted ways over 10 years ago and recently met again courtesy of my pregnancy cravings. So, I’m in!!

  20. I follow you on twittaaaah

  21. OH! Your site looks SO good! I should have hired someone to help me…I feel like I am drowning in WP!

    LOVE this giveaway too ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. I subscribed to your new feed

  23. I follow you on twitter!

  24. Yesterday for lunch I had a Lunchable that I picked up with out running errands. (Grown up I know.) My favorite Golden Girl was Sophia Petrillo because she reminded me of my Grandma. My favorite breakfast meat is bacon but only if it isn’t crispy.

  25. I subscribed to your new feed. Congratulations on the new site, and I love the look!!!

  26. Following you on Twitter too.

  27. 1st I love bacon and yesterday for lunch I had a Mediterranean salad from Solomons and it was delicious.

  28. I subscribe to your feed

  29. I follow you on twitter

  30. I hearted Nicodemus Green.

  31. Love, love the super-new look! Loved Blanche, but she was nothing like me ๐Ÿ˜€

  32. I LOVE your new blog design! We had breakfast for dinner last night and of course that included a side of BACON!

  33. Awesome site and wonderful tribute to the world’s greatest cured pork! Can’t wait to follow more!!

  34. And I follow you on Twitter!

  35. And I did a tweet about it.

  36. I Love Dorothy.Totally my favorite! I love your mascot as well. Super cute!

  37. I follow you on twitter
    BellesButterfly

  38. I added Kid-N Around Creations to my etsy favorites! So cute!

  39. I also tweeted your give away!!

  40. You can tell us what you had for lunch yesterday:
    Almond Butter and peach jam on whole wheat. I made that sound fancy – basically just a pb and j.

    Your favorite Golden Girl:
    I’m not going to say Betty White b/c she is the ‘it’ girl right now. But, seriously, Blanche is my favorite!

    Why you love breakfast meat:
    Why not? It’s greasy and delicious.

    LOVE the new site. I will bookmark-bar it now.

  41. Sis, the site just plain rocks! I’m so stoked for you and proud of all that you’ve accomplished in just 10 months. Just remember us little people! Love you. (Ps. I’m now doing RSS feed of you whatever the heck that means!)

  42. LOVE the new blog design ~ following!

    And, random fact: Last spring we did a beach trip with 5 couples and went through almost 10 lbs of bacon ~ bacon wrapped scallops, bacon wrapped shrimp, bacon with a side of bacon; we went through it like candy!

  43. Please please please please PRETTY PLEASE can I have the sunny side up onesie? With a cherry and some bacon on top?

    Love the new site. Adorable!

  44. OMG BACON!!!

    The new design looks great! Love the bacon ref in the tag line. ๐Ÿ™‚

  45. Great job Suzanne! Love the site…Gert is too cute!

  46. Congrats on the new blog!!! It looks amazing! No matter what I have going on in my day, I HAVE to see what is going on in your world ๐Ÿ™‚

  47. Love the new site and design Suzanne! You rock!

  48. Wow, what people will do for free stuff…ha!

    Love the new site…it’s bordered in mini bacons of pink and green!

  49. I subscribe to the new digs:-)

  50. New favorites in my Etsy list of favs

  51. This contest couldn’t be more perfect. People actually joke about my obsession with bacon. Bacon chocolate bars, bacon PB cupcakes, bacon and pancakes, BLT’s, bacon on my burger, bacon with my eggs. When I was pregnant, I would just fry up slices of bacon as a snack.

  52. I love your new site! I am a subscriber and I have been for a while! I find a ton of inspiration in your site!
    I would really love to win this. I’m stuck in bed for three months (well, or on crutches) with a non-weight bearing right foot and ankle! I need this!

  53. The site looks FAB! Totally suits you too! My fave Golden Girl was always Rose. And bacon also rocks my world. Congrats on the new site!

  54. I added Happy Felties to my faves on ETSY. That shirt is TO DIE FOR.

  55. This is the BEST GIVEAWAY EVER! I love bacon!!

  56. I am now a lifelong subscriber (you can’t pass up any blog with Bacon in the title)

  57. And of course, I MUST MUST MUST follow you on Twitter! i<3bacon

  58. I stopped by from D-List. Your blog is adorable!

  59. OMG. I NEED THESE. My husband loves Bacon more than our child. Okay, no rearry.

  60. I wanna play! I wanna play!
    Love it Sue!

  61. Love the new look!!!!!!!!!!!

  62. For lunch I had a cracker that I found on the floor but was too lazy to throw out.

    My favorite Golden Girl was, is and always will be Sophia Petrillo.

    I love everything about breakfast meat and its salty goodness. I think 90% of my left thigh is actually ham.

    I subscribe, follow and stalk.

    Keep up the great work. Love the new look.

  63. TWEEEEEETED!

  64. I TWEEEEEETED about the giveaway!

  65. OOOPS – i said i tweed 2x! so one can act as my comment for what I ate yesterday for lunch. ;o) Chicken + bacon.

    + I follow you on Twitter!

  66. Love the giveaway!!

  67. I am now following you on Twitter!

  68. Oh…and I LOVE bacon! Extra crispy, please!

  69. Um, Bea Arthur, duh. ๐Ÿ™‚

  70. Suzanne, you know I’ve been dreaming about chocolate covered bacon since you started talking about it last year! That praline bacon looks pretty delish, too.
    Congrats on the new site–it looks awesome!

  71. Suzanne, the new site looks fantastic! It is so great to see all the bacon offerings in one place. I am definitely among kindred spirits here. hehe. BTW, my fave golden girl is Blanche, a good ol’ Sounthern Belle like I aspire to be! Oh, and I love the T-rex shirt. Funny, I am in R&D phase of a chocolate covered bacon!

  72. The perfect compliment to bacon you might ask…….CHOCOLATE!!! Yumm Yumm in my Tumm!!!

  73. …..and the site looks amazing!! You go girl – making us moms proud!!!

  74. I added Nicodemus Green to my Etsy faves!

  75. I tweeted! (I already posted this but it disappeared so if they both show up just delete this one!)

  76. […] launching the โ€œnewโ€ pretty*swell, Iโ€™m still in the mood to celebrate. (For reals, I haven’t come down off my little cloud […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

