Itsy bitsy pider

05/24/2010 at 9:37 am | Posted in Small Fry, videos | 3 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Small Fry has been talking up a storm practically since she came out of the womb. Yeah, most of her verbal repertoire in those first few months involved screaming. And gurgling. And burping. But girlfriend LOVES to make noise.

She’s been talking since I can’t remember when, and her first word was the dog’s name. Followed by cheese (“chee”) and daddy. THEN mama. Yes, I’m #4.

We started writing all of her new words on a piece of paper stuck to the fridge, but we quickly ran out of space. I like to think that her chattiness has something to do with the fact that I’ve been talking to her since she was the size of a pea. I tend to talk, oh, I don’t know, ALL THE TIME. And especially in those early, lonely days of new mamahood, I’d carry on conversations with Small Fry, speaking for the both of us.

Once she started to respond, I was all GAME ON.

She announces most everything she’s doing, and asks everyone — anyone — “whatcha doing?” on a minute-by-minute basis. She asks hilarious questions and uses words I had no idea she knew. And that brain of hers soaks in everything she hears. This little fact stunned me, when in the car last month out of the blue, she asked me to play Beyonce because “Single Ladies” is her song. What?!

Also, I need to stop saying “crap” so much. And other stuff.

She’s become quite the singer, too. After just one weekend with her grandmother, she learned all the words to this quirky song about “rings on my fingers, bells on my toes,” and when she started singing it by herself out of the blue, it nearly made me cry. Her little singing voice is like puppies farting rainbows and cupcakes. It’s that cute.

Small Fry struggles with certain “s” words, like spoon (“poon”), school (“cool”) and squirrel (“curl”). My favorite is when she hollers after Marc’s friend Scotty: “Cotty! Where aaaaare you? Watcha doing?”

Which is why this rendition of Itsy Bitsy Pider (up the water pout) will make your face hurt from all the smiling (added features: nose-picking, hand gestures and an insane ability to keep singing the song. And singing. And singing.)

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. oh my gosh that is TOO cute! i love how rather than the traditional ending to the song, she takes it from the top! like her sudden interest in her arm…it almost distracts her from her song! Love this! definitely put a smile on my face…perfect for this gloomy monday!

  2. This – “Her little singing voice is like puppies farting rainbows and cupcakes” – almost made me fall out of my chair, I was laughing so hard. The video is awesome too ;).

  3. What a great rendition. She is absolutely precious!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

