Happiness is: a finished project

05/28/2010 at 9:52 am | Posted in DIY, Happiness is | 6 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

When we inherited this dresser from Marc’s cousin before Small Fry was born, it was a yellowed shade of cream with stenciled blue flowers. Not a pretty sight. But we saw the potential in it, and Marc painstakingly refinished it to a lovely pink with white handles.

It was the fist thing we finished in the nursery and sat by itself for weeks, surrounded by boxes, piles of clothes and other treasures we accumulated at our baby showers. I’d go sit on the nursery floor and just stare at that dresser, smiling at the thought of one day stuffing it with tiny baby girl clothes.

For the longest time though, I’ve been itching to add color to it.

So I painted the handles green and gave the drawers a refresher coat of pink (which, it’s hard to tell from these photos, is a shade lighter than the rest of the dresser).

You can really see the detail in the handles now:

I’m so happy with how it turned out, and I especially like how that green ties into the polka-dot bolster that my mother-in-law made.

Not a huge project, but still makes me smile!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i love the pop of color…it’s so small fry! and you! beautiful job sis.

  2. What type of paint did you use on the handles? I’ve got a piece I need to work on…did you poly them with a gloss afterward?

    • Sarah: I used semi-gloss paint on the handles, and I applied about four coats. Didn’t need clear-coat on top. But I used an eggshell paint for the drawers, and they were way to flat (and a little rough to the touch), so I applied one coat of gloss to shine them up (and make them smoother). My sister refinishes furniture all the time and always uses semi-gloss paint. No need for extra finish!

  3. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it. I so love putting fresh, bright, new paint on most anything. Sometime I’ll have to show you my chandelier.

    It looks amazing! Of course, I’m especially fond on it since, as a little girl, my room was ALWAYS pink and green. It’s my fave.

    -Abby

  4. That is stinkin’ adorable! I’m probably partial to it, though, since my baby girl’s room is also pink and green. Good job!

  5. That is SOOO cute! Love the color combo. I wish I had a better eye for seeing the potential in old pieces of furniture like that!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

