Happiness is: the first whiff of gardenia

06/02/2010 at 2:57 pm | Posted in Happiness is | 5 Comments
Tags: ,

My mother-in-law planted a beautiful little flower garden for Small Fry a few months after the baby was born. It has two gardenia bushes that, I think, were rooted from gardenias grown by Small Fry’s great-grandmother, Nannie. I love having this piece of history growing right outside our window! And it’s especially awesome when those gardenias bloom each May. The fragrance smacks you in the face when you come out of the house. In a good way.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I spent last weekend at my parents’ sniffing on their gardenias the whole time. Of course, my own little gardenia bush on my DC patio refuses to blossom at all – thankfully, Mom the Plant Doc is coming to its rescue this weekend.

    LOVE that you have such history blooming! Hard to imagine making a gardenia any more special, but you just did.

  2. What a special plant you have there! I can’t keep anything alive so I don’t get historical little gifts like that.

    Enjoy the fragrance! I’m dreaming of it now….

  3. Thanks gals! You should see it now. Covered in blooms. Cutting and putting in the house as often as possible. We may all have sensory-overload headaches by the time it’s quit blooming. 🙂

  4. What a special plant you have there! I can’t keep anything alive so I don’t get historical little gifts like that.

    Enjoy the fragrance! I’m dreaming of it now….

  5. I had to call my Grandma today and tell her that every time I smell this scent I think of her. I love this memory.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

