Freakin' fabulous

06/08/2010 at 5:01 pm | Posted in About town, just plain fun | 11 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

I love fashion.

I follow a few fashion blogs, subscribe to Vogue and pretend to understand how a purple patterned top goes with an orange leather pencil skirt. And why the model’s hair is teased to kingdom come.

Fashion is fascinating. The ultimate self-expression.

But I tend to practice the “buy three of the same thing if it fits well” shopping method. I can’t help it. Especially if it’s a difficult-to-find item like jeans or shorts. If those bad boys fit, I’m buying at least two pairs. Mom trained me well.

Lately, though, I’ve been itching to break out of my old habits. To experiment with my look and be a little more creative. Which, for a type-A Virgo, means wearing shoes a different color than my outfit. ::gasp::

I’ve been taking baby steps. A green bracelet here. BIG earrings there. And red shoes! I also bought a pair of metallic strappy sandals from Tarjay, but have yet to muster the courage to wear them.

Then, I cut my hair.

That’s been the most liberating thing that’s happened to me since I discovered chocolate-covered bacon.

My life was long overdue for a little shake-up. Who knew it could be as simple as a haircut?

So when my friends Sherry and Melyssa invited me to a Clinton Kelly fashion show, I was all hell to the yeah! Then I had to look up Clinton Kelly. He’s the What Not to Wear guy, and he is fab-u-lous.

He partnered with Macy’s for a nationwide makeover tour and stopped at our mall Saturday to change the lives of a dozen local women.

A few pearls of wisdom from the Gospel of Clinton:

“I’ve been to 42 of the 50 states, so I can say that, style-wise, this country is a hot mess!”

“It’s all about the tushie. That’s why God put jeans on this earth.”

“You can be casual. You can be comfortable. You can also be chic.”

“When it comes to style, fit is EVERYTHING.”

“I believe this with all my heart: When you wear oversized clothes, you forget you have a body. You grow to fit them.”

Clinton is a big fan of altering clothes to fit. He chopped the pockets out of these white pants, and for another outfit, he cut off a denim jacket right under the bust, saying “You don’t have to accept clothes the way they are given to you!”

I also learned NEVER to wear cropped pants, that a v-neck is the most flattering top on any figure and that structure is critical. And, did you know? An “empire” seamed top is pronounced “UM-peer.” Huh.

My fashionista friend Melyssa is a big Clinton Kelly fan, so I had a ball listening to her running commentary throughout the show. And even though his handlers were a little, shall we say, uptight, I was able to snap off this photo of Melyssa and CK, just after he complimented her outfit:

His new book is called Freakin’ Fabulous: How to Dress, Speak, Behave, Eat, Drink, Entertain, Decorate, and Generally Be Better than Everyone Else.

And lemme tell you, he means business.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great recap! Sarah and I loved hanging with you guys and seeing Clinton. He is the MAN!

  2. Looks like you had a lot of fun!

  3. Yay! I feel famous. The fashion show wouldn’t have been the same w/o you!

  4. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Melyssa Allen, Suzanne. Suzanne said: On getting schooled by the FABULOUS @clinton_kelly : http://bit.ly/ao4WWj […]

  5. How fun! man how I need that book!

  6. That looked like fun! Wish I had known about it. I love What Not to Wear. I would probably be a candidate for the show if they followed me to work everyday though. Jeans, t-shirt, jeans, t-shirt, jeans, t-shirt. I am in a fashion rut.

  7. […] lucky she let me strap these sandals onto her feet. They’re comfy AND chic. Just like my new BFF Clinton Kelly […]

  8. JEALOUS!!! I love that man…I would have his fabulously dressed, incredibly chic babies. No lie.

  9. But I loooooove cropped pants! Why can’t we wear them? 🙂

    • Becky: I feel your pain! And almost every other woman in the audience had them on!! He says they cut off the leg, make you look short and are generally unflattering. Hmmmm …

  10. Oh how I love Clinton Kelly! Thanks for telling me about his new book. I don’t usually buy books like that but it can’t be anything other than fabulous!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

