You Capture: America

07/08/2010 at 4:14 pm | Posted in just plain fun, Small Fry, snap happy | 11 Comments
Tags: , , ,

I’ve been sitting on my hands all week to keep from posting photos of our awesome July 4th weekend! Those who know me can vouch for the fact that patience is definitely not one of my virtues.

But it was worth it.

Today’s You Capture theme is America. Beth, who runs the photo challenge, encouraged us to describe through photos what America means to us.

The photo above is my favorite of the bunch. Small Fry was helping her dad hang our little flag, and after I handed it to her, I asked her to try to keep it off the ground as she carried it to Marc.

Hold it high, I said.

So she did. As high as she possibly could.

This next shot is overexposed, but I still love it. This scene could be happening anywhere in America, whether kids splashing in a city hydrant or, like Small Fry, with a hose in the green grass of suburbia.

Also emblematic of America?

A red bicycle with a bell.

And, hello. Deviled eggs.

Which of course accompanied hot dogs and hamburgers fresh from the grill.

I had fun playing with different settings to get pictures of our little sparkler party on the back porch. Here’s Marc, spinning a wicked loop. Isn’t it neat?

To see more of America through different lenses, check out I Should Be Folding Laundry today. Hope you had a wonderful holiday!

***************

Thanks for voting! Elvis would be proud.
Click To Vote For Us @ Top Baby Blogs Directory!

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. that last shot is really cool! don’t know how you did the effect, but i love it!

  2. love these! especially the deviled eggs because they are my fav!

  3. Ooo cool picture! Love the way it sums things up. And so cute that shes keeping the flag off the ground 🙂

  4. That picture of the hose is great!

  5. Nice! It looks like you had a great 4th!

  6. Love that sparkler picture. Though I’m a wimp and have always been too afraid of them to enjoy them.

  7. I love your first shot and the last. The sparkler is amazing. I’m a little like Shelley and always feel a little scared that they’re going to ‘sparkle’ onto me.

  8. Love these pictures! i love those cute chubby legs!

  9. Wow. You did a great job with the sparkler pictures. Mine leave a little to be desired : )
    Now I could totally go for a deviled egg. Yum!

  10. Love that last shot and the water shot! Thanks for visiting me 🙂

  11. Look at those legsnnomnomnoooom… love her!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

