Giveaway: NOVICA

07/12/2010 at 11:08 pm | Posted in Bloggy | 35 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

NOVICA is one of those companies I just want to hug.

An extensive online marketplace, NOVICA makes it possible for artisans all over the world to sell beautiful handmade goods. What I most admire about this company is that they provide tremendous opportunity for people who might not otherwise have an avenue to sell their work by connecting them with customers worldwide. They even offer their artists interest-free loans.

NOVICA calls itself a “nation of artists throughout the world” … “a bridge connecting our separate communities into one worldwide nation” … “a nation of people inspired by the arts and empowered by the Internet.”

Check, check and check.

This is one neat organization.

I had a blast exploring the NOVICA website. Got a little lost, in fact. Somewhere between green gifts and fair-trade corporate gifts (where I found Marc’s Christmas present. Shh.) There are textiles, glass, jewelry, furniture, paintings, sculpture. EVERYTHING.

And with each and every item comes an interesting back story on the artist. After bookmarking about a dozen gorgeous, unique items, I settled on the “Oleander Exotic” cocktail ring, by Achara from Thailand.

Ordering was a breeze, and I was pleasantly surprised by the incredibly reasonable shipping cost. After all, this ring was coming straight from Thailand! I was even more surprised when it arrived within 10 days. From Thailand!

The hits kept on coming.

The NOVICA jewelry box was a gift in itself, made of saa paper, a handmade mulberry bark paper that’s been produced in Thailand for more than 700 years. There also was a lovely booklet with details about the artist and the ring.

I almost (sort of) felt guilty keeping it for myself. Anything from NOVICA would make such a thoughtful, lovely gift.

Soooo … speaking of gifts.

NOVICA would like to offer one lucky pretty*swell reader a $50 gift certificate! How generous!

To enter this giveaway, just check out the NOVICA site and leave a comment below. Easy as pie.

For extra chances to win, you can do any of the following (please be sure to leave separate comments for each):

>”Like” NOVICA on Facebook
> Follow NOVICA on Twitter
> Subscribe to pretty*swell
> Follow pretty*swell on Twitter
>Tweet about this giveaway, with something like: “What’s better than bacon? Beautiful handmade goods from @NOVICA via the @pretty_swell giveaway: http://bit.ly/dDvovf”

This giveaway ends on Monday, July 19, at midnight EST. I’ll announce the winner here on Tuesday the 20th.

I was given a $50 credit to spend on the NOVICA site, in return for my review. I received no compensation for my opinions. Which are always my own. And are always honest.

***************

Thanks for keeping pretty*swell in the top 50!
Click To Vote For Us @ Top Baby Blogs Directory!

35 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Love the site!

  2. I subscribed to pretty*swell 🙂

  3. I love the Sterling Silver Garland choker.

  4. That ring is gorgeous! Makes me even happier I’m headed to the OBX on Thursday :-).

  5. This site is going to get me in trouble! I love art glass, sculptures, fine and exotic looking scarves, mirrors, oh, and THIS RING! It reminds me of the one Ann Taylor had at Christmas time that sold out in two weeks and I’ve been weeping over since. Except this one is special, artisnal.

  6. I like Novica on FB!

  7. And I am subscribed to you. :o) I just don’t tweet. :o/

  8. Wow, NOVICA is awesome. I just bookmarked the site so I can window shop more later.

  9. Love the site! I’m in love with this ring: http://jewelry.novica.com/rings/amethyst/amethyst-cocktail-ring-whisper/162170/

  10. I follow pretty*swell on twitter!

  11. I stumbled onto this site a few weeks ago and quite liked what a saw! Love the ring you picked too!

  12. What a cool ring! Neat site!!

  13. I subscribe to pretty*swell!!

  14. I “like” Novica!

  15. OMG-gorgeous! Suzanne, you rock girlfriend! I’m just sayin’……..

  16. Wow! I have a thing for necklaces and always look for something different. I have seen so many on that site that I love! Price ranges for every budget too!

  17. I am subscribed to pretty*swell via my Google Reader.

  18. I follow you on twitter.

  19. I tweeted about your giveaway :).

  20. Wow, that is beautiful!

  21. I liked Novica on Facebook.

  22. I suscribed to pretty swell!

  23. I tweeted about your giveaway! 🙂

  24. I am now following you on Twitter!

  25. Oh I LOVE them!! My favorites are the textiles-Gorgeous!!

  26. I follow you on Twitter! (your profile pic makes me laugh every time!) (@seemommyknit)

  27. Retweeted! Yay! (@seemommyknit)

  28. […] pretty*swell » Giveaway: NOVICA […]

  29. i subscribe to your blog!

  30. i follow you on twitter!

  31. i’m a sucker for handbags. i love their bags!

  32. I love the Lilac Scroll necklace with amethyst.

  33. I am following Novica on twitter.

  34. I am subscribed to this blog via google.

  35. I am following prettywell on twitter.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

