Toddlerista: Stripes and dots and socks, oh my!

07/16/2010 at 9:07 am | Posted in Small Fry, snap happy | 10 Comments
Tags: ,

Outfits like this one are the reason I started “Toddlerista.”

Forget cute dresses with matching purses. Jaunty summer shoes. Hair bows.

Our girl loves the dirt.

And she’s all about dressing for comfort, which translates into all things KNIT.

Denim? No way. Cute broadcloth prints? Forget it. I have to wrangle her into dresses, usually by bunching them up in my hands first so she can’t tell what exactly is being pulled over her head.

She’ll reach every day for her elastic-waist knit shorts and stretchy tanks.

And I wouldn’t dream of stopping her.

Unless it’s a for special occasion, like baby O’s birthday party this weekend. The strategery involved in dressing Small Fry in the outfit I’ve picked out for that day would blow any rocket scientist’s mind. Wish us luck.

Back to her latest creation … it just plain rocks. My favorite part? Brown patent sneakers with green polka dot socks.

Perfect for gardening, no?

She’s also rocking some hot pink Dura gloves that are a few sizes too big.

This next photo almost makes me cry because she looks SO BIG.

Oh thigh rolls, where have you gone?

Tank: Old Navy (Small Fry accessorized with a multitude of stickers.)
Shorts: Carter’s outlet
Socks: Gap outlet
Sneaks: Stride Rite
Hat: Gymboree
Gloves: Tarjay

***************

What better way to kick off the weekend than with a vote for pretty*swell? Well, maybe a beer. Um, yeah. Definitely a beer. And a hot dog. Happy weekend!
Click To Vote For Us @ Top Baby Blogs Directory!

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I need Small Fry to come to my house to pick out my outfits. This girl has style!

  2. Stripes and dots go great together! Small Fry’s outfit is awesome. I think the stickers and Dura gloves are the perfect touches.

    • So glad we have the fashion guru’s approval on this one! I think CK also would love the stickers. 🙂

  3. i’m all about comfort when dressing S. Granted he’s a boy so we don’t really have the pressure to look cute. 😉 But i think small fry looks adorable in her mismatched fashionista style!

  4. Ha! this reminds me my daughter who now wants to pick out all of her clothes. Who knew this would be the thing to do at two.. 🙂 Corynn is all about yellow, whatever has yellow in it must be worn every day…you gotta love it!

    • Love that Corynn has a signature color! Too cute.

  5. I notice you plug the stores where you bought her clothes. How do you remember that? I of course, remember where I got all my clothes. It’s one store…REI.

    • Do you even get your skivvies at REI? Do they sell super-awesome outdoorsy boxer-briefs? 🙂

  6. I just stumbled across your blog (from Blairs) and saw your little one is nick-named “O” also. So is mine 🙂

    Love your blog!

    • Thanks so much for stopping by! Glad to meet a fellow Blair fan! Baby O is actually my sister’s daughter — she turned 1 today! My daughter is “Small Fry,” and she’s 2 1/2. I write about them both, so it’s easy to get them crossed. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

