Big-girl bike

07/27/2010 at 2:25 pm | Posted in just plain fun, Small Fry, snap happy | 13 Comments
Tags: , ,

Look who’s big enough for her very own bike!

Well, it’s technically a tricycle. But we won’t tell her that.

Small Fry was sooooo excited about her new big-girl bike that she insisted on helping Marc put it together. It was one of those awesome moments that I never want to forget, so I took twenty bajillion pictures. And I’m going to post them all here! Lucky you.

No really. I wouldn’t do that to you guys. But I will post enough to cross the line over into obnoxious mommy territory. I just can’t resist.

My little baby is all grows up!

::sniff::

She especially loved these little black plastic thingies and held them tight until her daddy needed them. Which he never did. But he assures me that the bike will not fall apart.

So Small Fry keeps them in her little bike trunk, and they roll with her around the cul-de-sac.

FINALLY after about 600 pictures of the bike-building process (and mommy getting in the way a few times — just a little bit), the time had arrived to wheel the shiny new big-girl bike outside for a test ride.

Small Fry felt very big and important strapping on her new helmet. I just kept thinking, it will save her head if she falls … it will save her head if she falls … deep breaths … do we have any wine? …

At last the big moment!

TA-TAAAA! (as Small Fry says)

Marc and I took turns trying to show her how her feet work on the pedals. In other words, trying to convince our kid that no, you can’t just sit and expect the bike to move. You gotta work for it, girlfriend.

She was ecstatic! Just look at that grin.

I think her favorite part of the whole thing was the little bell on the handlebars. This is one of the all-time BEST things about having a child: seeing how simple things really do bring so much JOY. She reminds me of this every single day, whether it’s a bicycle bell or a grilled-cheese sandwich. There’s a lot of happiness around. You just have to open your eyes.

Alas, the black plastic thingies in the trunk needed some attention. So she parked on the curb and rescued her “toys” from the back of the bike.

Then she spent the rest of our afternoon outside together pushing the bike like mommy and daddy.

She’s a BIG GIRL, after all.

::sniff::

::snarfle::

::SOB::

::really, where’s the wine?::

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. ACK, my head just exploded with adorableness and I cannot believe she is big enough for a bike! Put a brick on her head, immediately (as my father would say)!

    Of course the bell in the best part. I bought a fancy new grown up bike for commuting a couple years ago…and promptly put a bell on it. Right next to the wicker basket.

    • So TRUE — totally want to put a brick on her head! When I saw her on that bike, I just couldn’t believe it.

      Also: how awesome are you with your bell and basket? Love it!

  2. She is just the sweetest little thing in the world! And Bell helmets are supposed to be top of the line (I’m sure that’s why you got it) and remember, if she falls she is 2′ away from the ground. Just have the band-aids and a popcycle ready! Although my son never fell off this type of bike so I think she is safe. And by “she” I mean “you”.

    • You’re right! Band-aids and sweet treats will save the day, for sure. 🙂

  3. This is way too much cuteness in one post. What a beautiful night for you guys.

    And I totally agree on the happiness thing. There is a lot of stress bouncing back between me & Clint lately but all I have to do is look at Madison and just see that she doesn’t care about anything but rolling around on the floor and playing with me. Well that…. and grilled cheese or pasta. Love that kid so much.

    • It’s SO refreshing to hear this from another mama. I can be having the worst day, but when I get home and hug her, it really does disappear. At the very least, for a few wonderful moments. Hope your stress dissolves soon — I can’t imagine trying to sell a house right now. Hugs!

  4. Hi Page-2-friend 😛 I have bookmarked your blog and love your photos. What a sweety!

    Thank you for stopping by my blog ❤

    • Hey! Thanks for stopping by!! Bookmarked your blog, too. 🙂 Hooray for page 2!

  5. What a huge moment Sis! It’s so nice to see kids still want to get out and move…and not just play a video game of someone riding a bike!! Some of my favorite memories of our childhood was hanging in the cul-de-sac!

  6. ::dead from adorable::

  7. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Suzanne, Suzanne. Suzanne said: My baby can ride a tricycle. Hold me. http://bit.ly/a86La2 […]

  8. AWWW! She is so big!

  9. oh my, that cheesy grin picture is just TOO much:)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

