You Capture: play

07/29/2010 at 11:09 am | Posted in About town, Small Fry, snap happy | 12 Comments
Tags: , , ,

It’s been a while since I’ve participated in the You Capture photo challenge. I’ve missed it!

This week’s theme is: play.

Which I thought would be so fun, given that I live with a toddler who LOVES to play. Inside, outside, in her crib.

Easy peasy, right?

Not so much.

The last week in North Carolina has been H-O-T. Like, 100-degree temps for several days in a row. Our cold front? Down to 90. Brrrrrr.

Needless to say, we’ve slowed down. Even when we’re inside basking in the air conditioning, life just moves slower when the heat is this thick.

So we decided to get out of the house for a Saturday night Durham Bulls baseball game. Since it’s too hot for us to play, why not watch others do it?

I love going to these games. Mostly for the food. And the beer. And the strolling around the lovely American Tobacco Campus.

Here is Small Fry getting a good laugh out of her grandmother. I can’t tell you how much I love this shot, from Bebe’s guffaw to Small Fry’s knowing look (as in “I know how dang cute and funny I am”).

And here she is peering out over the “river” that flows through the middle of all that concrete. Love how the camera caught her eyes.

This one’s a little dark, but that’s a good thing because it means we were sitting in the shade. Thank goodness. Temps reached 101 degrees that day.

I think it’s neat how Small Fry’s program is folded to reveal “play ball.”

We all took turns fanning Small Fry. The heat sapped her energy, and I got a little nervous about it. Lethargy is a scary word, especially when it involves your child. I was ready to pack us up and head home after just two innings. But after a brief respite on her dad’s lap, lots of fanning (thanks, Ann) and LOTS of lemonade, she totally perked up.

Also, taking off her shirt really helped.

How I wished I was two years old that evening, so that I could peel off my top and bra-turned-tourniquet!

To see more interpretations of “play” through different lenses, check out I Should Be Folding Laundry today!

***************

We’re slipping a bit in the rankings. Give us a boost? Thanks! And greasy bacon kisses!
Click To Vote For Us @ Top Baby Blogs Directory!

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. welcome back. 🙂 Love the laughing picture! It’s fabulous.

  2. Cute photos! When my kids know I need a specific shot, they do everything they can to prevent it. 😉 So the themes I think are going to be easy are never as easy as I think. haha.

  3. What beautiful eyes she has!

  4. I would probably end up light your daughter at the game- heat and I don’t mix well, but I’d gladly accept the fanning and the lemonade!!! Great shots.

  5. I *love* the one of her and Bebe. And there are days when I wish I could take off the shirt and get away from the heat.

  6. Wow that is hot, good shots none the less.

  7. ugh, i hear you on the heat!

    kiddos know how to get the laughs, they’re no dummies!

  8. It’s so cute to see a little girl totally into baseball! She’s super adorable, and these are great photos.

    101 is just too hot! We live in Oklahoma and we’ve had 105+ for the last week and a half. It’s miserable.

    Glad you all got to enjoy the game, despite the heat!

    -Echo
    Barely Mommy

  9. san, these pictures are beautiful! small fry’s eyes say so much on their own. and that knowing smile. you’ve got a great eye and a perfect subject! thanks for sharing.

  10. Nothin’ like baseball in the summertime. And thank goodness for friend-fanners and cold lemonade. =>

  11. OMG I am not only admiring your photo skills once again, but you have the most precious model!! Small Fry and Bebe — PRICELESS. Loved this post.

  12. These are great shots. My fav is the first one of her and her drinky-drink. Her face is just darling 😀


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

