Elvis has left the building

08/03/2010 at 10:42 am | Posted in family, Love, Motherhood, Small Fry, snap happy | 15 Comments
Tags: , ,

As we sat waiting for Small Fry’s doctor yesterday, I caught a whiff of the unmistakable odor of a poopy diaper. You guys, I have NEVER been so happy to smell poo in my entire life.

Three little pebbles.

That’s it.

But it meant something bigger: the seal was now officially broken.

Hallelujah.

The doc pressed on Small Fry’s belly and didn’t feel anything alarming. Whew. And she’d gained half a pound since the ER weigh-in on Saturday. Double-whew.

He sent us off with a recommendation to buy Miralax and some gummy fiber chews. Said we could try another suppository or an enema if need be.

But within a few minutes of getting home from that appointment, Small Fry pushed out a small boulder. I held her while she cried. Her relief was palpable. So was mine.

Hooray for poo!

She ate her first real meal in three days and drained her apple juice/Miralax cocktail. We all (finally) got a good night of sleep.

Now, an open letter of apology to all of the family members I managed to freak out yesterday. Especially you, Aunt Mary Lou! I promise (PROMISE!) that you will never read about a serious illness on this blog before you’ve heard from me first. Still love me?

Thank you everyone for your words of support and concern yesterday. For your e-mails and text messages that simply said “Poop?” This little community we’ve formed here sustains me in a way I never expected when I started this blog almost a year ago. You guys make my heart swell.

Here’s a little photographic evidence that our mountain adventure wasn’t a total wash. I took these with my phone because (shocker) I forgot my camera.

We were driving along country roads on Friday, Small Fry cheerily pointing out EVERY SINGLE COW she could see, when Nana suggested a detour.

Let’s put our feet in the river.

It was awesome.

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] This post was Twitted by pretty_swell […]

  2. this is just the news i was hoping for…more prayers answered

  3. Yay! So happy everything’s back to normal. Thought about you all yesterday!!

  4. how scary Suzanne! You did a good job taking care of her. Your phone takes good pictures!

  5. Amazing pictures sis. You can just feel the warmth of the sun and that cool water. Thanks for sharing a glimpse of your Nana adventure and also the good news of S.F.’s!

  6. Hello,

    I have been following your blog for a while now but have not written in. I am also in the Raleigh/Durham area and love these pictures of this River. I have been looking for a place to take my kids that we can put our feet in. A creek or river. Is it close to Raleigh?
    Thanks!

    • Hi Jessica! Thanks so much for reading!!

      The river in those photos is in the NC mountains, but for a place to wet your toes nearby, check out the Eno River in Durham. Lots of pretty trails. Kid and pet friendly. Here’s a link: http://www.enoriver.org/

  7. Yay! Fiber gummies are a daily must in our household. 2 per day keeps things moving.

    Glad everything “came out” okay! πŸ˜€

    • I’m totally sold. And Small Fry thinks they’re candy. A win-win. πŸ™‚

  8. Suzanne, I must tell you that Miralax is truly a miracle. We have an almost 3 year old granddaughter who has fought the constipation battle for, well, almost 3 years. She eats extremely well, lots of veggies and poop making things, but still battles the colon thing. She is getting better and doesn’t require the miralax daily, but gets it when she needs it. I have seen poop come out of her (finally) that just shouldn’t come out of a tiny girl. Enough of that. Just wanted you to know that miralax is great and there are those little ones who have to fight that battle daily! Glad yours is on the road to recovery!

    • Thank you for sharing this! It’s always nerve-wracking to give you child a new medication, and it makes me feel much better to hear from someone who’s had success with it. Thank you!!

  9. Hi Suzanne,

    I was not freaked out but more worried sick about your little munchkin and her awful symptoms.Thank God she finally pooped. I imagine your car still stinks to high heaven -phew. You did most wonderfully niece under very stressful conditions.

    • Good. Glad I haven’t been disowned. Love you!

  10. THANK GOODNESS! I’m so glad she is doing better!

  11. Thanks again SO MUCH you guys for all the support and kind words. She’s doing great. Lots of epic diapers, so her little system is definitely getting back on track!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

