BlogHer Lite

08/04/2010 at 2:54 pm | Posted in Everything else | 10 Comments
Tags: , ,

I just let Small Fry fall asleep on my chest in the rocking chair. Which I never do, because you’re supposed to put the baby into the crib partially awake and blah blah blah.

I’m a big believer in following this rule. But today, I wanted the extra time.

To feel her chest rise and fall. To listen to her breathing become heavier and more rhythmic. To feel the tell-tale twitching of her arms and legs and the little toots she pops out as she drifts into dreamland.

I leave for BlogHer tomorrow evening, and I am going to miss this kid. Big time.

But I am also so ridiculously excited about BlogHer that I’m sweating rainbows. I’m even excited about the flight to New York. Because for one whole hour I get to sit by myself and read a magazine. By myself. Reading.

When I arrive in the city I get to see my good friend Simone, who graciously agreed to put me up for a couple of nights.

Then on Friday a whole day in the city to myself! I’ve already scoped a lunch spot in the East Village.

BlogHer actually begins on Thursday, but I won’t be able to partake until Saturday. You see, I have a one-day pass to the conference because I didn’t act quickly enough and the whole thing sold out before I knew it. My bloggy pal (and fellow warrior mama) Ivy can’t stay for the Saturday sessions, so she sold me her pass.

SO EXCITED.

On Friday evening, I get to meet Katherine Stone, who writes Postpartum Progress, and a bunch of other mamas who have survived postpartum depression. Katherine and Casey, who writes moosh in indy, have organized a group photo. I cannot wait to hug these women. Especially Katherine. Consider yourselves warned.

Saturday I’m going to try to squeeze in every last session possible, cruise the exhibition halls and track down people I can’t wait to meet in person. Again: consider yourselves warned.

And if I have the good fortune to come anywhere near Gabrielle Blair, Jenny the Bloggess, Karen Walrond or Liz Gumbinner I may very well forget how to speak.

Saturday night? The only party I RSVP’d to (because in the South it’s bad manners to book more than one engagement in a night and also I had NO IDEA that so many other parties existed and that everyone goes to at least 10) is Sparklecorn, hosted by MamaPop.

Laura helped me pick out some fun jewelry that I would never have had the balls to buy if shopping alone for this party because, really, what does one wear when the dress code is “roller disco?”

To keep me off the streets Saturday night, trying to find my way back to Simone’s place across the river in the wee hours of the morning, Erin and Molly have agreed to let me crash in their room at the conference hotel. Slumber party! YES!

In the midst of all this happy chaos, though, will be an anxious mommy texting the crap out of her husband to find out how her baby is doing back home.

I carry Small Fry with me wherever I go, but I always long for her physical presence. The way the back of her neck smells and the feel of her little hands squeezing me in a hug.

So tomorrow before I board my flight, I’ll have a mild panic attack.

Am I doing the right thing? Should I go? How can I leave her?

But then I’ll step onto the plane, magazine in hand, and try to remember that I deserve this.

********************

Psst. Next week after you’ve endured countless annoying BlogHer posts, I have a little surprise for you. Here’s a hint:

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sweating rainbows!?!? That’s the cutest thing I’ve ever heard!

    You go, you deserve it and she might grow up to be weird if you don’t. Just remember that, whether it’s true or not.

    Have fun! Wish I felt BlogHer worthy! Perhaps some day.

  2. Just had to tell you my Novica gift came and the scarf is gorgous, high quality, soft. Mmm, love it! It feels like my birthday! Thanks again!

  3. sweating rainbows is sooo hilarious!

  4. I’m so jealous! You’re going to have such a great time! Have fun!!

  5. I can’t wait to meet you and hug you right back!!!! And I’ll be at Sparklecorn too!

  6. go you! have a fantastic time, you so deserve it and will be an even better mama for it! and thumbs up on the laura jewelry consult. 🙂

  7. You rock sis! You alone for the day in NYC?! The city better watch out! Mama’s toddler free and on the loose! =) Ps. I want to borrow that necklace. And the bracelets.

  8. have fuuuuuuuun!

  9. Ok, I’m going to make you a little jealous now- Karen has taken my portrait twice! We’ve known her for years, but every time I see her, I just think how remarkable she is.

    • Oh wow. I can’t imagine having my photo taken by her. Awesome!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

