BlogHer '10: dorking out

08/09/2010 at 11:11 am | Posted in Bloggy, just plain fun, oh the places we go | 12 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

So remember how I said that if I came anywhere near any of my blog idols at BlogHer, I’d probably forget how to speak?

Yeah. Not so much.

The COMPLETE OPPOSITE happened.

I mob-hugged Gabrielle Blair in the hotel lobby and gushed over her sweet baby. See above.

I jumped the stage after a conference session to hug Jenny Lawson. More gushing. More blathering.

I told Laura Mayes that I love cheese. Then in a ridiculous attempt to make conversation, I asked her where she’s from. Which is Austin. Which I already know because I read her blog.

DORKING. OUT.

And poor Maggie Mason.

I informed her that I’d spotted her across a dark bar by her hair. Which is gorgeous and curly and red. But by the motion I was making with my hands around my head (to get my brilliant point across, you know) you’d think I was telling her she had a gigantic sparkly purple afro.

She smiled and hugged me. They all did.

Even though I did everything short of lifting my shirt and asking them to autograph my chest.

Getting to talk with these women whose work inspired me to start blogging (and inspires me on a daily basis to keep at it) was a HUGE highlight of my BlogHer experience.

I still can’t believe I swapped cards with Mighty Girl.

My brain is trying to process the crazy whirlwind of the conference, and once I can put sentences together in some logical way (and dig through a mountain of photos), I’ll tell you all about it.

I can’t wait to tell you all about it.

It was just awesome.

p.s. I didn’t wear the same outfit all weekend. Swear.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I can see how much fun you had! You are beaming in these photos. So happy you had such a great weekend.

    • Thanks! “Beaming” is definitely the word. All the way to the moon!! 🙂

  2. It was so lovely to meet you! Do you know what? When I got back to my hotel room after meeting you, I realized I’d been wearing my shirt inside out all night long. Awesome!

    • Oh no! Ha! Well, with a beautiful newborn strapped to your chest, I’d say you’re off the hook. 🙂

  3. Soooo fun! I’m sure it was an amazing experience! I’d be dorking out too.

    Can’t wait to hear about it (either through posts or in person- haha)

    • Miss you! Maybe we all could get together for a BlogHer “debriefing” sometime soon?

  4. I met Gabrielle at Mom 2.0 and she is just lovely. I met Jenny and Laura prior to that and they are just great. I love it when you meet people from the internet who are “big bloggers” and they turn out to be more wonderful than you imagined they’d be!

    • SO true! In fact, I think I (not-so-brilliantly) described them as “untouchable” when I was talking with Maggie. What surprised me was that the “celebrity” bloggers were so kind and approachable. The fact that they hosted a little party at the Volstead and invited everyone says it all. Just such wonderful women!

  5. Love your blog…this is my first ever comment!!!
    Anyway, I’m so glad that you had fun. You are “glowing” in the pics:).
    PS: Love the outfit! It’s OK if you were it every day.

    • Hi! Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment! Hooray!! And, thanks also for the outfit vote of confidence. When something works, why change, right? 🙂

  6. […] went to the Volstead, where I gushed all over Maggie Mason and Laura Mayes and devoured an entire plate of mac-and-cheese skewers. Like at the State Fair, only without […]

  7. […] Bloggess and is probably the most hilarious person I’ve ever met in my life (at BlogHer, when I nearly tripped into her lap). Her blog is incredibly popular, and she’s something of a celebrity in our little […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

