You Capture: in the kitchen

08/19/2010 at 11:20 am | Posted in snap happy | 32 Comments
Tags: , , ,

I love today’s You Capture theme: in the kitchen.

Our kitchen, as I suspect is the case for most everyone, is the heart of our home. Whenever we have friends over, everyone crams into the kitchen. Small Fry and I spend much of our time together in the kitchen, eating, playing at the table or on the floor, putting on shoes to go outside.

And of course, all of my attempts at cooking take place in the kitchen.

Family mealtime was a big deal growing up. How my parents managed to get all four of us at the table together nearly every night astounds me.

Dinner was often my favorite part of the day. And not just for Mom’s pasta or Dad’s ground beef hash “surprise.” It was the conversation. The laughter. The warmth and love and security.

One of my biggest hopes for our little family is to carry on that tradition of dinner together every night. Dream big, right?

For this photo challenge, I scoped out some of my favorite spots in our kitchen. Pictured above is a little basil starter kit that Small Fry is growing. It sits on a rainbow tray (holla Target) right by her placemat, and she delights in seeing how much it’s grown each day. Without fail she exclaims, “Mommy! Look at my green leaves!”

Here is a snippet from my cookbook collection. I adore the fish salt-and-pepper shakers, a vintage find (and gift) from my friend Julie.

And the fridge. An exercise in controlled chaos, if there ever was one. I just love it.

Finally, here’s a shot of my favorite little kitchen companion, hard at work on Play-Doh spaghetti.

These shots turned out a bit grainy, but I still love the colors and the character and the story they tell.

What are your favorite spots in your kitchen? How do you manage family meals? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

And for more kitchen images, be sure to check out I Should Be Folding Laundry today.

32 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love your fridge, ours in covered in bills… Not so cheery! And I love the photos you have on your wall!

    • Thanks!! I give you credit for posting your bills to your fridge. I think that’d make me cry every time I went to get something out! πŸ™‚

  2. LOL, my fridge door is like yours –colorful alphabet fridge magnets and pictures galore!

    • It’s the best, isn’t it? Wouldn’t have it any other way! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. It looks like you have a much chearier kitchen than I. That basil looks like its in an egg shell but I really dig the pic.

    • Actually, it is in an egg shell. It’s this little grow kit from Wal-Mart. You crack the top of the egg and add water gradually. Once it outgrows the shell, we’ll move it to a pot. Such a great little toddler project!

      Thanks for writing in!

  4. My fridge looks a lot like yours, full of art work and photos!

    • It just makes me happy! And, somehow, it seems that there’s always room for more stuff!!

  5. My family always had family meals and it’s something that if we ever have children of our own, I would certainly continue. We would talk about the day, hear about what my dad did at work, and many time – visit with friends who had been invited to join us. All in all, great memories to have. BTW, I love the pictures hanging in your kitchen!

    • Thanks for sharing your memories! I really hope to do the same for my daughter.

      And thanks for your kind words about the photos hanging behind Small Fry — they’re my latest captures from the farmer’s market. Try to change them out with the seasons, but I’m sorta hooked on that winter squash shot. πŸ™‚

  6. Your kitchen looks to be filled with love. I miss that! All my stuff is packed up for the move. Great shots!

    • Thanks!! Best wishes for your move! I’m sure your kitchen will be unpacked in no time. πŸ™‚

  7. Cute basil plant! And love your fridge :p Ours always ends up with random pictures and drawings!

  8. your fridge looks like mine and I think thats how they are suppose to look! love it!

  9. Oh my! Lovely, lovely photos! The one of your little girl is precious. I love the composition…how you got the pictures above her in the shot. And I was just thinking about starting my own little herb garden in my kitchen too. Target, you say? Awesome!

    • Thanks for your kind words!! The basil starter kit is from Wal-Mart (I wish I could remember the name brand … has the word “egg” in it). The tray is a Target find — summer clearance!

  10. I love this post!! You always have a way of making me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. Thanks for sharing this!!

    • You’re sweet! Glad to help with the warm and fuzzies. πŸ™‚

  11. I personally love fridges that are complete chaos because they look happy πŸ™‚ We don’t even have kids and ours is nuts.

  12. I love the basil shot. And I might steal the farmers market pics idea for our breakfast nook (such a dated term, wish I could think up something better).

    We try our hardest to eat meals at the table and talk about the day but 5 minutes into it its all about making B eat his food. Wish I could figure out how to make it more peaceful and engaging for all.

    • I hear you! Feeding Small Fry can be just plain torture. For her and me. I’m really hoping that as she gets older and learns that vegetables aren’t the enemy, it’ll become more peaceful. Wishful thinking?

  13. As my mom always said, “Every good party winds up in the kitchen!”

    • SO true! Even when we were in an apartment with a teeny-tiny hallway kitchen, almost every single person always crammed in there … even in the pantry!

  14. we try to have dinner together at night too, but S lasts about 5 minutes and then it usually turns into a screaming match 😦 I wish we could leisurely enjoy eachother’s company. Maybe I need to introduce new toys at dinner time or something to hold his attention while we eat.

    • Seems that there are lots of mamas in the same boat. What a relief! Maybe it’ll get easier as they get older? Maybe? πŸ™‚

  15. I love that first shot. It took me a minute to figure out what it was πŸ˜€

  16. I love all the color in your kitchen…very happy!

  17. I love your kitchen. Period.

  18. I love your first picture! The background is so colorful and fun!

  19. thanks for stopping by, love love the first photo,
    I do love my little measuring cups – they are “minatures” of the set of pots and pans I have –
    and they are by far my favorite measuring cups.

  20. oops – forgot to say I will be back – glad I found your blog – it’s great

  21. I have the Deceptively Delicious cookbook too! It’s so cool.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

