On my dad's birthday

08/30/2010 at 5:12 pm | Posted in family, Love | 3 Comments
Tags: ,

I love everything about this photo.

My arm around my dad’s neck. The Big Bird sheets. The Raggedy Ann jammies. The green floral wallpaper. My bowl cut.

Most of all? My dad’s patient smile.

He read to us every night, and we loved every minute of it. And until we got too big, he used to carry us up the stairs, one daughter on each hip, and toss us gently into our beds. It’s a tradition I can’t wait to continue when Small Fry gets her big-girl bed.

I couldn’t have gotten luckier in the dad department. And it’s a whole new level of awesome watching Small Fry bond with her smitten Papa.

Happy birthday, Dad! Love you.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. love it.

  2. This is so touching! Happy Birthday to your dad!

  3. such a cute one! Happy (Very) belated birthday to your dad 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

