From the bottom of my heart

08/31/2010 at 12:39 pm | Posted in About town, Love, PPD | 16 Comments
Tags: , ,

This is one of the few photos of newborn Small Fry and me that does not make me want to cry.

I tuck a print into whatever book I’m reading as a reminder that, yes, I struggled, but even more important, I have a beautiful daughter to show for it.

Most everyone who reads this blog knows that I’m a postpartum depression survivor.

It’s pretty much the reason I started writing pretty*swell. To be a resource for other moms and (I hope) show that life DOES get better.

Another way that I try to pay it forward is by volunteering with the organization that played a huge role in my recovery: Postpartum Education and Support.

I’ll never forget the gigantic wave of relief that washed over me during my first support group meeting. Not only because I’d been dreading it with a capital D, but also because there were so many other moms in that room feeling EXACTLY the was I was feeling. Hopeless. Scared. Crazy.

I realized I was not alone.

And I healed.

Thank goodness.

On October 2, Postpartum Education and Support is hosting its first-ever StrollerThon fundraiser, and I am super-excited about this event. All proceeds from the three-mile walk will fund programs and services that benefits moms and their families.

If you live in (or near) the Triangle area and want to walk, or if you’d just like to support the cause, click here.

If you’re a blogger and would be willing to post a badge on your site for the next month, drop me an e-mail.

Thanks for anything you can do to help get the word out. Every little bit makes a big difference!

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Pantry2Plate, Suzanne. Suzanne said: Why I'm walking proudly in the StrollerThon by @moms4momsNC : http://bit.ly/a504t2 #ppd #warriormamas […]

  2. From the bottom of my heart — thank you! I will walk proudly with you — strong together 🙂

    • Amen, sister!

  3. I’ll be right beside you.

    • YAY. Thank you!

  4. My eyes were watery when I saw the picture, before I even read the words. Look how far you’ve come!! Thank you for your support. Can’t wait to walk together as a “warrior mom”.

    • Thank YOU for creating this wonderful organization, Anne! It’s going to be such a great event.

  5. I am looking forward to walking beside all of you super strong moms!

    • Awesome!!

  6. that is awesome!

  7. We have an out of town wedding that weekend or else I’d love to be there in support in person. I’m emailing you that I can post a badge & I’ll do whatever else that I can to help.

    • Thank you so much!

  8. Love the picture and the story behind it. Although I’ll probably be out of town for the walk, I’d love to include the badge on my website…email me!

    • Thanks, Mel! I’ll send it to you asap.

  9. Thanks so much for sharing about PPD. I have recently posted a photo of me and the Bug on my blog. I still have a hard time wrapping my head around those first few months. I was in love and so much beauty surrounded me and yet there were those waves of darkness too.

    • Thanks for sharing, Amy. I’m hopping over to your blog now to see the photo of you guys.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

