Pen to Paper Challenge: Letter #2

09/08/2010 at 3:25 pm | Posted in Everything else | 3 Comments

This week’s Pen to Paper Challenge letter is in the belly of a plane (or truck?) somewhere in the middle of the country right about now, on its way to my good friend Jeff.

That’s him up there, holding Small Fry when she was about 12 weeks old. An aside: Those rolls! How I miss them!

Because Jeff used to share my fondness for smoked pork products (until he became a wacky pseudo-vegetarian), we lovingly refer to him as Uncle Bacon.

Small Fry is Lil’ Bacon. And Baby O is Lil’ Pork Chop.

Jeff is one of the funniest people I’ve ever met, and I swear he’s had me in stitches for the last decade or so. He’s always up for a good dare, and he’s been known to bruise ribs to pull them off (hello, Boy George concert). He even gets laughs out of me when he’s not here. The stories are that good. And Jeff is the reason I still use the word HOLLA. With pride.

He also is a very smart guy, and has just started work toward his Ph.D.

Dr. Bacon?

Hmmmm.

I miss Jeff a lot, and I wish he lived closer. So I wrote him a note (on my lovely Pear Tree stationery) telling him so. Without the guilt trip, of course. Because I never wield my Italian guilt super-powers.

I also wanted to wish him luck on his new adventure. I can’t imagine how difficult it would be to become a doctor of anything. So proud of him.

***Ooh! The winner of the SmartKnitKIDS socks is Olivia P. Congratulations!!***

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It’s Jeff-Jeff! I’ll never forget the pillow he had (from his grandma?) that had his image screened on it–hilarity at it’s finest 🙂

    • YES! The face pillow. Wonder who’s sleeping with it now? 🙂

  2. Yeah, I miss ol’ Jeffjeff too! I miss the salad days of post-college craziness!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

