Walk this way

09/14/2010 at 8:36 am | Posted in Belly to Butterfly | 4 Comments
Tags: , ,

(This is part of Belly to Butterfly, written by my sis Laura. Thank goodness! I’ve missed these posts. Haven’t you?)

I haven’t written in a while and I’m not quite sure why….there’s been plenty going on…maybe that’s the reason.

O is 13 months going on 75 years (in the form of a reincarnated babbling, feisty old man who needs help but doesn’t accept it easily). All she wants to do is walk, and climb, and walk some more.  Only catch is…she can’t walk yet (at least not without two of my fingers for confidence). It’s exhausting! Lord help us if there are stairs in the vicinity…the workout would put Jane Fonda to shame.

To give you an idea of how frazzled I’ve felt lately, I’ve actually been waking up (on purpose!) earlier than her (we’re talking 6:40am) so that I can have a chance to eat my cereal, drink some juice and pee in peace.  Desperate times my friends.

The two ways I get a break during the day (outside of her naptime…which we all know isn’t really a break but more of a mad dash to complete all the things you can’t when she’s conscious (as Carter noted this weekend, “When she’s around everything gets half done.”) is by taking her for a walk in the stroller or by sticking her in the car (who knew getting gas or depositing a check could be so relaxing!).

Otherwise, when we’re at home, my job is to keep her in one piece…at 5pm when Carter gets home, the torch is passed.  (Just recently we had to disassemble Sandwich’s travel crate because O got stuck inside…although good to know that she fits.)

I don’t know about you but that 6 hour stretch between her wake-up time and nap time seems like a looooong few hours when you’ve got a kid who can’t play on her own for more than 5 seconds. The kid wants to walk, and if you don’t go in the direction she’s leaning towards, she’ll plant her body and bend until you have no choice but to follow her lead or end up in a twisted, sweaty heap on the floor.  If this happens, it’s best to just stay down…play dead.

I think I’m becoming a hunchback.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. How much do I love that photo? A LOT.

    Also: she’s going to walk soon. I can just feel it!

  2. I am in your nanna’s class sitting in the computer lab, and I just wanted to say that I love your blog and to wish you a HAPPY BIRTHDAY. Your pictures are so amazing.

  3. I am in your nana’s class and we enjoy your blog and we want to wish you a happy birthday. Oh and Small Fry is really cute.

  4. I am in your Nana’s class and we enjoy your blog and want to wish you a happy birthday. P.S. Small Fry is really cute.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

