My heart is three hours away

09/19/2010 at 7:03 pm | Posted in Love, Motherhood, Small Fry | 9 Comments
Tags: ,

Something just isn’t right.

This house is too quiet. And tidy. And boring, actually.

Small Fry is with her grandmother for a few days, and I feel discombobulated.

I’m supposed to be living it up — doing all those things I can’t do with a small child to look after.

But I miss her so much my chest hurts.

Don’t get me wrong. I slept in this morning and went shopping this afternoon. And I might just be lying on the couch watching football. But, y’all, it isn’t nearly as fun to pick out a Halloween costume for a toddler when that particular 2-year-old isn’t scuttling around my legs swiping clothes from the racks.

And it isn’t nearly as fun to shop for groceries without that little person smiling at me from the cart, legs dangling, munching on a free cookie.

And I just made a meatloaf and potatoes without any interruption. I miss my little kitchen companion, scooched up on a bar stool, “helping” me cook.

I’m pitiful, you guys.

VERY grateful to my mother-in-law for this wonderful gift of time and rest. But pitiful.

Is it Wednesday yet?

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I hear you sis! As excited as I am for our girls’ weekend next month, I’m already anxious and a little sad about leaving Baby O. Hang in there! It’s good to miss someone and be missed. The heart grows fonder they say.

    • So true, sis. A little separation every now and then is good for everyone.

  2. I can loan you Collin for a few days. Would that help? πŸ™‚

    • Ha! I’ll keep the offer in mind for next time. πŸ™‚

  3. I can impersonate Small Fry if that will help. I will totally smile from the cart while munching on a free cookie. I can do a lot of things for a free cookie! Hang in there!

    • You are too funny, my friend. And I have no doubt that you’d cram yourself into a shopping cart for a free cookie. This made me laugh — thanks!

  4. i know what you mean! well, sort of, since i’ve never had that long of a break but i always miss solo so much when we’re apart, even for a date night! it’s crazy how much they change our lives and steal our hearts…

  5. She told me today she wants to give Reid a big kiss! Muuuaaaahhh! I called her a lunch today and that is what she told me. She also told Mom that she was happy that Reid, Josie and Aunt Amy came over yesterday – yes, in that order! πŸ˜‰
    Enjoy your adult time. Hopefully you and Marc are having some nice, quiet moments….
    Love you!

    • Sounds like you might have some competition. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

