So long, farewell …

09/26/2010 at 3:36 pm | Posted in Bloggy | 5 Comments

Today is one of those days I want to bottle up and keep forever, like Luke’s jar of sunshine on Modern Family.

I just peeled myself out of Small Fry’s bed, where I’d put her down for a nap and accidentally left my own drool spot on her orange pillow. Laura’s homemade sweet potato soup is simmering on the stove. And it’s pouring rain.

Heaven.

We’re at the beach for our annual summer send-off. Despite the fact that fall officially began last week, temperatures have still been soaring into the 90s every day. Here in North Carolina, we’ll be saying goodbye to summer well into October.

My parents rented the same cottage they booked for our wedding week six years ago, so I love coming back here and reliving those memories (minus the panic over the no-show hairdresser or the mayhem of midnight favor-bag stuffing).

Small Fry is totally blissed out, what with the beach and her grandparents and her favorite playmate ALL IN ONE HOUSE. We snuck out today to soak up a couple of rain-free hours, and she came back into the house covered in sand. It was even crusted around her nostrils. She can’t get enough.

She and I have both been sick lately, so I’m hoping this salt air will work its magic. We need a break. And some sleep.

So, friends, I’m going to unplug for the week. Take a break from blogging, Twittering and all things that tie me to the computer.

I’ll be back next Monday with photos from the StrollerThon. And probably a couple hundred shots from the beach. And, you know what October means? A certain deep fried event will be rolling through town. The Deputy and I are already cooking up a grand adventure. Can’t wait.

Hope you have an A-plus week. Be back soon!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Enjoy your week! Hope the salt air gives you some relief.

    As for the deep fried goodness…it will be my first time and I can’t wait to go and eat and eat!

  2. Glad to hear from you and hope you and SF spend the week feeling better 🙂 See y’all at the StrollerThon and thanks for all that you are doing to promote the event!

  3. Jealous!!! Have a blast. And, can I request the recipe for the soup as a Belly to Butterfly post? Sounds yummy.

  4. Hey– hope you have a great week!
    I’d like to participate in the StrollerThon next weekend, but our plans are still up in the air. Is it too late to offer up a little cash?

  5. Hurry back! I miss you so!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

