Friendship, courage and why we all should just "roll with it"

10/05/2010 at 4:43 pm | Posted in Friends, Love, PPD | 7 Comments
Tags: , ,

I missed the StrollerThon.

After months of planning, cajoling friends and family to support me, fundraising, writing and generally being excited, I missed it.

On the Friday morning before the event, when I could barely pull myself out of bed (thanks to a B-A-D stomach), I knew it wasn’t going to be realistic for me to walk three miles — much less stand up straight — without barfing.

Enter the Deputy.

With one phone call to my dear friend, so many of my worries dissolved. And within hours of our conversation, the newly appointed captain of Team Roll With It had designed a fabulous poster and rallied everyone on e-mail.

She is unflaggingly loyal. And just plain awesome. Believe me, I consider myself lucky. Everyone should have a Deputy in their lives.

Another phone call to my friend Anne, the inspiring woman who founded Postpartum Education and Support 10 years ago, and any remaining worries vanished.

But still. I was devastated.

From the moment I woke on Saturday morning, I thought about my team and willed myself to “walk” alongside them. I like to think I was there in spirit.

Aren’t they awesome?

Here is the adorable Keeley, my friend Alison’s daughter:

And, here’s Fadra, who won the sweet Bumbleride stroller raffle:

And here’s everyone.

Survivor mamas. Friends and family. Walking on a beautiful fall morning for a cause close to their hearts. Proudly.

Thank you, team, for rallying.

Thank you, Alisa, for being such an amazing friend.

And thank you to every single one of you who supported the StrollerThon. I am overwhelmed by the love that surrounds me.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Anything for you my bacon loving friend! My hubby is intrigued by you after I gushed about how great you are. He wants to go to the fair with you instead of me! HA! I am boring when it comes to bacon and fried goodness.

  2. Aw that sucks that you were sick! But am so glad that they were able to carry on the show for a great cause!

  3. Had a great time – but totally missed you girl. Thanks for the invite – I was honored to join in!! See you soon!

  4. Awwwww shucks! You are too kind. I hope you are feeling better!

  5. Bummer you were sick! What a great cause though, serio…good for you 🙂

  6. I am so jealous that all these amazing women live so close to you. Cincinnati is SO behind the times. SHEESH.

  7. Suzanne – it’s really about doing what’s right and what’s in your heart. I really wanted to participate and just needed to kick myself in the butt and go. And I’m so glad I did. Amazing women and vendors. Thanks for inviting me!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

