Frill Seekers Bazaar: ticket giveaway!

11/02/2010 at 2:37 pm | Posted in About town, just plain fun | 6 Comments
Tags: , , ,

One of my mom’s best friends (and a loyal reader of this here blog), Kaye Lambert, is a very talented sculptor. She’ll be showing her work this weekend at the Frill Seekers Bazaar, along with countless other artists, entrepreneurs and generally crafty people.

I’m really excited to go check out Kaye’s booth, and of course, to get a head start on my holiday shopping. Yes, Christmas shopping in November is early for me. Anything purchased anytime sooner runs the great risk of being lost forever!

This is the first year for the Frill Seekers Bazaar, which runs from Friday, Nov. 5, through Sunday, Nov. 7, at the Durham Bulls Athletic Park. Tickets are only $5 per person and are available online or at the door throughout the weekend. The best part? Proceeds benefit the Autism Society of North Carolina.

I caught up with Kaye’s friend Paige Ward, host of the Frill Seekers Bazaar. Her energy is contagious:

How did the idea for the Frill Seekers Bazaar come about?

I was brainstorming on what to do to ease back into Durham, as I had made the decision to return to where I was born and bred. I needed a break from the rat race of a demanding career and wanted to have something creative to work on in the transition. I also wanted to help entrepreneurial businesses and tie in a “pay it forward” campaign.

Our mission says it all: To provide a “frilling” shopping experience where entrepreneurs can flourish and spread their unique platforms to eager shoppers who will appreciate their hard work and dedication in a friendly environment.

What can people expect when they walk through the doors?

The holiday market will feature local and national vendors with the latest in unique and trendy gifts, personalized products, apparel, art and sculpture, jewelry, handmade, handbags, health and beauty, home and garden decor, gourmet food and beverage products, party supplies, frills for pets and more! We’ll also have a café where folks can sit, relax and refuel.

What is your hope for the event?

That everyone has fun and a frill a minute!

Fun leads to good karma and a relaxed environment where exhibitors and attendees both will have a positive and enlightening experience. A positive environment will lead to the Bazaar making a wonderful contribution to the Autism Society of North Carolina.

What do you look forward to most about Frill Seekers Bazaar?

The gathering of community with attention to a “pay it forward” atmosphere. Times are tough and we all need to relax, laugh and have some fun … and while we are at it raise a little money for autism awareness. I want everyone to come tap into their “inner frill seeker!”

********

Paige is graciously offering one lucky reader a pair of tickets to the Bazaar!

If you’d like to enter to win, just leave a comment below. I’ll choose the winner at random and announce on Thursday afternoon. Have fun!

***

Abby is the lucky winner! Thanks for playing, y’all!

6 Comments

  1. ahhhhhh I would LOVE to win! I was looking for something to do this weekend!

    (shocking I won’t be working, right?!)

  2. Ooo, I wanna win. I’ve been looking for a local craft-y show/fair to attend. This one has the added bonus of being right here in downtown Durham!

    So please pick me. I wanna win!

    -Abby

  3. Would love to check out Frill Seekers in Durham this weekend. Only been in town for about a year and learning new things about the area every day. Besides, my wife would love to learn more about the arts and crafts scene here.

  4. See? You’re beyond the best! If I win, it’ll change the course of our life. Seriously.

    Because we’re trying to decide when to head up the mountain. And, I want to go shopping and can’t decide if an hourish would be enough time to explore. Can’t tell you how bad I wish it went until 8pm (working 8-5 is cramping my Friday fun *wink*)

    Ok…so I’ll probably go anyways. Love the concept of this market!

  5. Love shopping and even better when it’s to benefit the Autism Society of NC.

  6. Very cool. I work right across from the DBAP so this would be a great after-work treat on Friday and a good way to get some Christmas shopping out of the way!


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

