Confessions of a (crazy, grouchy) pregnant lady

11/04/2010 at 10:21 am | Posted in baby sunshine, pregnancy | 18 Comments
Tags: , , ,

YOU GUYS. I have been so excited to share my pregnancy with you. Being a blogger and keeping a big secret for 12 whole weeks was like lying under oath. It’s been torture!

But now? I can tell you everything. Whether you want to hear it or not.

1. I have been on-the-verge-of-barfing sick every single minute of the last 6 weeks. Dry heaves, dizziness, nausea. I hope that explains my lack of creative/frequent/halfway entertaining blog posts. I keep thinking I’m feeling better, then BLAM. More nausea.

2. For a while I subsisted on zofran, bland carbs and apple juice. But I quit the meds because they scared me. Made my throat burn and stopped things up pretty severely down below. Not fun. Because I’m not losing weight and the baby is growing, I don’t really need to be on the medicine. But I carry it with me at all times, like a little foil-pack security blanket.

3. I’ve developed freakish cravings for Lean Cuisine french bread pizza. And laffy taffy.

4. Sirens make me tear up. I’ll be sitting in my car at an intersection, a fire truck blazes through, and I’ll start bawling.

5. All that state fair food? Mostly bites here and there. For the record, I did successfully eat 1/3 of that krispy kreme burger. Surprisingly, it went down well. And stayed down. But otherwise I mostly stuck to the basics (biscuits, mini donuts, ice cream) and took the occasional bite of the “exotic” stuff. I have a deep fried reputation to maintain, you know.

6. My belly popped at 8 weeks.

7. Maternity pants have been part of my wardrobe since then.

8. I had to change Small Fry’s shampoo because the scent nauseated me. Which made snuggling difficult. Which is simply unacceptable.

9. I can smell someone burp from 50 feet away. An unfortunate super-power.

10. I’m scared of going through PPD again. And sleep deprivation.

11. Whenever I feel too sorry for myself, I think of Casey and her tremendous struggle. She has reminded me throughout my misery that I’m not alone and that it could be much, much worse. And that the reward will be worth it a million times over. She is bloggy hero turned preggo hero.

12. Sometimes I forget what I’m doing whilst IN THE MIDDLE of doing it. Pregnancy brain + mommy-of-a-toddler brain = a force to be reckoned with.

13. It’s been difficult to get excited because I feel so crappy every day. But then I’ll get a little peek at the peanut, or hear the heartbeat, and I’m overcome with love.

14. The baby’s nickname is Larry. Because it feels like living in my belly is a greasy, angry pot-bellied dude crushing beer cans on his forehead and screaming at the TV. This name is subject to change. When I feel better.

15. We’re going to wait to find out the baby’s sex. Which I always thought was crazy. But this time around? It just makes sense.

Thank you so much for all of your kind words and well wishes! I do feel like one lucky lady.

18 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I could have written this post word for word!! My nausea just subsided this week (at 15 weeks, lovely!). The only thing I can’t get on board with you here is finding out the sex – I already have my anatomy scan scheduled for Dec 10th – first appt in the morning. I NEED to know!

    🙂

    • Congratulations on your pregnancy!! Keep me posted on your scan on 12/10. So exciting!!!

      I am definitely crossing all my crossables that the nausea subsides soon! Today is week 13. Relief has got to be around the corner … right? 🙂

  2. Oh goodness, do I feel your pain! Well, not right this second, but I do have vague memories of all this 🙂 I started showing the second I found out I was pregnant the second time around. I took Zofran with both of mine, and the shampoo…yes! Only it was mine. It smelled like
    coconuts. Yuck. I still can’t use that kind of shampoo. But
    you are right, it’s SO worth it. I would do it a million times
    over, for both of them.
    I hope the sickness subsides soon and that you are able to enjoy the rest! Congratulations!!

    • Thank you! I hear you on the coconuts. Don’t think I’ll ever be able to buy that particular shampoo for SF again! Thanks for sharing a bit of your story. So comforting!

  3. Very excited for you. (What the heck? – is EVERYONE pregnant these days?!?!) And you know that we’ve got your back when it comes to the PPD so just hang in there and try to enjoy the pukiness … as much as one can. 😉

    • Thanks mama! You’ll be hearing a lot from me, come spring. 🙂 A relief to know that you and your awesome site will be there for me. xo!

  4. I am beyond impressed you managed to keep the secret so long, especially when it feels like EVERYONE on the internet is pregnant and constantly talking about it (present company included).

    I’m sorry about the sickness and hope it goes away now that you’re in the 2nd trimester. My best cure? French fries. It was the only way I survived my first pregnancy.

    • Mmmm. Must have french fries. Now.

  5. Congratulations! And to think not that long ago we were sitting on a couch at CheeseburgHer talking about how to know if you want another baby or not. I’m so happy for you and it sounds like you are almost through the first trimester and all the sickies.

    • I know! I vividly remember our conversation … at that point, I was very much in debate over whether or not to even have another child. Amazing how things change. 🙂

  6. Congrats again! I too don’t know how you kept quiet for so long. When I POAS & it’s positive, I’m going to have a hard time not shouting “I’m pregnant” to everyone I meet/see!
    Hope you start feeling better soon! Maybe Larry will chill out in his burping beer gut way! 😛

  7. Dude, I couldn’t even look at a Krispy Kreme burger whilst not pregnant. You’re fair food reputation far outweighs mine.
    Congratulations! I’m in good company, makes me really happy to have “friends” to go through this whole messy load of crap with.

  8. i am so excited for you. hope the sicky-ness passes soon!

  9. Congrats again!! Love the baby nickname and your superpower…made me laugh out loud. Amazing how quickly those maternity pants come out the second time around, isn’t it?! Hope the second trimester treats you better!

  10. I am so super excited for you. As a PPD momma, I am so inspired by you and the fact that you’re not letting it prevent you from having another baby. I look forward to being with you on this journey and know that we are all here for you too 🙂

  11. I love that you aren’t going to find out the sex. We didn’t with our first and we won’t with this next one. There is something so fun about saying, “It’s a BOY!” right after delivery. (Or Girl)

  12. Funny thing is, the minute I heard you were expecting, my first thought was, what about the State Fair food? 🙂

  13. I have to admit,when you first posted about being pregnant my second thought after “YAY” was “how the heck did she manage to keep down that fair food?” That was really taking one for the team, IMO. I am so happy for you. I know the whole PPD will be better this time around because you are informed and can be prepared. Again, congratulations!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

