You Capture: what inspires me

11/18/2010 at 11:26 am | Posted in oh the places we go, snap happy | 15 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

For this week’s You Capture, we were challenged to demonstrate what inspires us.

My immediate thought, of course, was Small Fry. She inspires me every day to whip out my camera, as any reader of this blog knows well (thank you a million times over for enduring epic toddler photo posts).

But I really wanted to wiggle out of my comfort zone with this challenge. And I got lucky. We traveled to the mountains last weekend, which opened up my eyes. And my lens.

Being in a new place always inspires me. Usually to the tune of a couple hundred photos. Which is exactly what happened last weekend. None of these shots is edited. My surroundings were that beautiful.

Pictured above is sunset on our first evening. I couldn’t get enough of that gnarly tree in the landscape.

And this shot of our friends Kelly and Ed just makes me smile. Their expressions. The pretty light. Just love it.

Here’s the Appalachian State University football stadium, otherwise known as The Rock (a fact that, if I didn’t add it, would surely disappoint the hubs). Let’s just say the walk from our tailgate to the stadium was a bit hilly. And this mama took it slow (thanks to Marc for holding my hand). But when I looked up at the top of the very last hill, this is what I saw. It stopped me in my tracks.

This is the underside of the bleachers where we sat. Patterns intrigue me. Although people must have thought I was crazy, standing in the middle of a crowd pointing my lens straight up. I almost made someone drop his nachos. Don’t tell.

Check out more inspiration over at I Should Be Folding Laundry today!

Photobucket

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love the stadium shots!

  2. That first shot is spectacular! I love that all your shots are SOOC. I have a hard time not editing mine. I wish I was getting it right in camera more often, but I need more practice :P.

  3. Great shots!!
    Love the first one!

  4. Wow! These are great! Love your blog and I too start a lot of sentences with “and”. πŸ™‚

  5. That first shot is amazing and the lines and patterns in the last one are just perfect. Love all your shots – very inspiring indeed!

  6. I love that first shot!

  7. ASU – in Boone? Great place! πŸ™‚ Love that stadium shot/bleachers!

  8. I like the perspectives of the last two photos…and the rays in the sun shot!

  9. Fantastic shots!! Amazing light. And I’m totally the same way whenever I go somewhere new. We went to Hamburg recently and I took about 600 shots while we toured the city. Thank God for digital πŸ™‚

  10. awesome pictures. i love the uniqueness of each one. although i do miss seeing small fry! πŸ™‚

  11. I just can’t get over that first shot! Beautiful!

    I know how you feel about people thinking you’re crazy when you are pointing your lens at weird things. I have a pin on my camera bag that says “Doing strange things in the name of art”, maybe I should have that made into a t-shirt. πŸ™‚

  12. I like that second shot πŸ™‚

  13. I love the first shot with the gnarly tree and streaming sunlight.

  14. There’s nothing like a new landscape to photograph!

  15. Love these! That first one is simply stunning!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

