Thanksgiving recap, with a side of Kanye

11/29/2010 at 12:45 pm | Posted in family, Love, snap happy | 10 Comments
Tags:

I love being in the kitchen with my mom.

When we cook together, we just have fun. Everything else floats out the window once we dig into our back-and-forth, pass-me-this-can-you-measure-that routine. And we keep each other’s secrets. Like how I made her handle the turkey all by herself because the sight of that raw flesh made my stomach lurch. And how we forgot about the green bean casserole in the oven.

Thanks, Mom, for tackling the bird, while I focused on other pressing matters. Like cheese.

One of my all-time favorite Thanksgiving traditions is watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. The Rockettes and the old-school turkey float are my favorites, but I even enjoy the overdressed lip-syncing teenage superstars. Too fun. (Although I will confess I fast-forwarded through a few of the acts this year. What was up with Kanye and those chains? In the Macy’s Parade? Really?)

This year, Small Fry was finally old enough to watch it with me. Well, the bits that kept her attention, that is. Like the Sesame Street float and the soaring Snoopy balloon. And Santa of course. When he came on the screen, she stopped what she was doing and crawled up onto the ottoman to get a closer look:

Our dinner was beautiful and delicious. No fuss. I didn’t even iron the linens (which may be a criminal offense in the South). The five of us sat around our rumpled table, grateful to be together and thinking of our loved ones who were scattered from Massachusetts to Florida.

Before we sat down, Marc sang a little blessing that his grandmother taught him. Much to our surprise, Small Fry squeezed her eyes shut and swayed to the song. I grabbed my camera in a hurry so most of the shots blurred, but this one captured the moment. She is too funny.

And here she is playing with her Papa on the floor after dinner (which, for her, consisted of a sweet potato biscuit and one bite of mac-and-cheese):

Here’s our little family huddle. No dress, tights and hair bow this year. Just blue jeans, hearty food and lots of love.

The rest of our weekend was a bit of a roller-coaster, complete with an emergency trip to the vet and a certain someone transitioning to a big-girl bed. But more on that later.

How was your holiday? Wonderful, I hope!

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Happy thanksgiving to you and your lovely family! Looks like you had a nice time with the people you love and who love you (who cares about the dress and the bow, right?).
    xxo!

  2. Happy Thanksgiving to you guys too! We hung around the house all weekend and didn’t do anything but play, watch movies, cook and eat yummy food and snuggle. It. was. fabulous.

  3. Great post, perfect holiday recap! Looks like loads of fun. And, sweet potato biscuits? Tell me more, please!

  4. Do you think Marc would share his blessing? We love singing our blessings and new ones help keep my children motivated! Beautiful pics

    • Hey Hope! Here’s the blessing:

      “The Lord is good to me,
      and so I thank the Lord,
      For giving me the things I need,
      the sun and the rain and the apple seed,
      The Lord is good to me.”

      Next time we see y’all, ask Marc to sing it. Then you can get the tune. 🙂 Hope you had a wonderful T-Giving!

      • My uncle sings that one too! It’s also in the Disney Movie Johnny Appleseed.

  5. Wow, that food looks super yum! I didn’t really get to eat Thanksgiving food this year because we all came down with the stomach flu. Ugh.

    Also? Your babe is adorable and your little belly bump is too cute!

  6. Looks like a delicious and truly comfy Thanksgiving! We were definitely there with you in spirit. Beautiful pictures Sis!

  7. Oh, Suzanne! Looking at your little angel there makes me want to have a daughter. Though I’ve become so great at mothering all three boys (aged 16, 15 and 7), a daughter would be a really cool challenge. And gift! I can just imagine what fun mothers and daughters do together, like you have with your daughter. Sniff!

    Great posts though. Let me get back to reading the rest now. It’s been taking me so long, admiring the pictures to the point of envy! LOL!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

