Remembering Grandma

01/04/2011 at 11:43 am | Posted in family, Love | 22 Comments

My grandmother Lillian passed away last week, just a few days after her 89th birthday.

She lived up north, so we didn’t get to see each other very often (pictured above is Small Fry with her great-grandmother, upon their meeting in May 2009).

But I do remember the way Grandma smelled. And that she signed all of her letters “love and kisses.” And for a petite woman, she gave fierce hugs. She always smiled. And it was easy to make her laugh.

She never wanted anyone to worry about her. But we all did. Especially as her health began to decline in recent weeks.

One of the most memorable things about her funeral, besides getting to say goodbye to my sweet grandmother, was the message on the sign out front of the church. I can’t remember it exactly, but it went something like this:

“The sky is above us.
The earth is below us.
And God is with all of us.”

I love you, Grandma.

22 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I am so sorry for your loss. She looks like cupcakes & courage.

  2. So sorry for your family’s loss. It sounds like she was well-loved. And how wonderful that small fry got to meet her great-grandmother. Loss is still hard, though, even after a long and full life.

  3. Oh that is so sad. My heart breaks for you. Losing a grandma is tough business. She’ll live on through your memories of her and the stories you pass on to small fry and the wee one in your tummy.
    Warm hugs Momma.

  4. I’m so sorry for your loss. She sounds like a wonderful woman.

  5. I’m so sorry for you & your family’s loss. Sadly, I know what you’re going through as we lost my grandmother Christmas morning. Yall will be in my thoughts & prayers. Enjoy the memories; so glad you have that picture above with Small Fry!

  6. Thinking of you and your family, S. So sorry to hear the news about your grandmother. We’re here if you need anything. MJA

  7. So sorry. 😦

    My granny raised me so it always makes me sad to hear when other people lose theirs, too.

  8. You and your family are in my thoughts…Your Grandmother is your angel now.

  9. Sorry to hear of your loss. Many hugs to you.

  10. I’m so sorry for your loss Suzanne. Grandparents are so special, even more so once we have kids of our own, yes?

  11. I’m so sorry for your loss, but so glad Small Fry got the chance to hang out with what sounds like an amazing woman. Hugs and comfort from afar. 🙂

  12. So sorry girl – I lost my granny earlier this year as well (97 years old) and we were very close. It still hurts to think about it but I thank the heavens that she atleast got to meet Keeley. I’ve got pictures to share with Keeley when she gets older and asks about “GG”. That picture above is precious – SF looks so little!

  13. I sorry to hear about your Grandma. She sounds like a nice woman, and I do love the quote.

  14. I’m sorry for your loss.

  15. I’ve been thinking about you and your family. May your happy memories of her give you strength. Hugs to you.

  16. what a lovely woman. so sorry for your loss.

  17. So sorry to hear this. It sounds like she was great and that you have wonderful memories of her.

  18. So sorry for your loss.
    Those are some pretty special memories. I am sure Small Fry will love hearing about her great-grandma when she is older.
    Hugs, andrea

  19. I’m sorry for your loss. We don’t get to keep grandmas very long but they live with us forever.

  20. I’m so sorry for your loss. Grandmas are special people we will always cherish and remember.

  21. She really was a great lady. I told Tony that if she was at the funeral watching over us, she was probably giggling watching O play and make all her cute little girl noises. She is missed by us all. I’m happy I got to know her : )

  22. Sorry to hear about your grandmother Suzanne…and around the holidays too. Much love and hugs. And what a cute pic of her and Small Fry.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

