The Solution (Part 2)

01/12/2011 at 10:36 am | Posted in Belly to Butterfly | 5 Comments
Tags: , ,

(Belly to Butterfly is back! YAY. These columns are written by my sister Laura, who also authors this lovely blog. To read Part 1 of this post about being a stay-at-home-mom, click here.)

There isn’t one.

Ha!

Okay, maybe there isn’t one big sweeping answer to the challenge of being a stay-at-home-mom…if there is, please email me.  There are lots of little answers and I uncover more as I go along.

I’ve signed up O for a Mother’s Morning Out program.  It’s 4 hours of freedom in exchange for O to run around with kids her age and pick up as many of their germs as possible. She’s only cried once so far when I’ve dropped her off, and I’ve only cried twice.

My parents graciously give up a piece of their much deserved retirement to hang with O once a week.  I try to jam in a month’s worth of to-do’s and to-wants in that day.  The evening prior I’m giddy with anticipation of eating my lunch ALONE and in peace.  (Tina Fey’s fantasy ala “Date Night” of being alone in a quiet hotel room having lunch and a cold Sprite hits the nail on the head.)

2011 is going to be more structured…hopefully.

The worst thing you can do as a stay-at-home-mom is have no game plan for the day.  It’s a loooong stretch from 6:45am to 1pm. Long. We’ve got MMO, my folks, Tuesdays with Small Fry, tumbling Thursdays and swimming with San & Small Fry Fridays.

I just have to figure out how to get her to take a 5 hour nap or retain an ounce of my energy at the end of the day to job search, write, sew, cook, clean, and stay sane.

Again…a small solution arises…Carter gave me a gift certificate to my favorite coffee shop with a nearing expiration date and coupons for free childcare.

All I have to say is, “Tall latte, hold the toddler.”

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sis, I totally hear you on the needing structure. I simply can’t face my days home with SF unless I have things up my sleeve for us to do. Play dates and lunch with baby O is always at the top of the list!

    Seriously. I’m glad you’re finding some solutions, whether big or small. You deserve time to yourself!

    • Thanks sis. I’ve quickly realized that as the saying goes, “if mama ain’t happy, nobody’s happy.” I’m a hot mess when I haven’t taken care of myself. It’s at the top of my resolutions this year…I’m sure it’ll have a trickle effect on everyone else around me!

  2. The two posts have been awesome…and a very accurate look into the world of stay-home-moms! Believe it or not, it gets easier to be home with kids once the kid becomes a toddler and more interactive and can actually talk. Sounds like you’re doing a great job!!

    • Thanks Heather! It’s definitely been an improvement now that she can walk and I’ll definitely like it when she can voice her wants to me as opposed to grunting like Frankenstein.

  3. I love your two posts! Even though I’m not a stay at home mom, on those days when the kids are here due to illness, holidays or snow I end the day with frazzled hair and buggy eyes saying “I don’t know how those women do it!?!?!” It’s good to know I need to start planning the day ahead of time. It makes everyone happy!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

