The 2011 no-hate Golden Globes fashion recap

01/17/2011 at 3:42 pm | Posted in Everything else | 10 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Claire Danes at the 2011 Golden Globes

For the first time in ages, I actually stayed up to watch an entire awards show (plus red carpet preview). My favorite part of last night’s Golden Globes, besides Chris Colfer’s awesome speech? The fashion.

So much color! I loved it. A refreshing change from basic black and blend-into-your-skin neutrals. And such a braver choice.

Maybe it’s because I’m pregnant, but I just thought Natalie Portman was stunning. And even though she’s way too skinny, I loved how Claire Danes rocked that hot-pink Calvin Klein.

Natalie Portman at the 2011 Golden Globes

And who doesn’t love Kyra Sedgewick? Especially in gorgeous tangerine:

Kyra Sedgwick at the 2011 Golden Globes

My other favorites: Anne Hathaway in a bold, backless Armani Prive (even with those monster shoulder pads), Lea Michele’s frothy pink confection and Tina Fey in striking sapphire.

Anne Hathaway at the 2011 Golden Globes

Lea Michele at the 2011 Golden Globes

Tina Fey at the 2011 Golden Globes

images

So with the baby break-dancing in my belly (giddy over celebrity fashion like mama?) and a sweet husband who endured my running commentary, I hunkered down on the couch for one of my favorite television nights of the year.

Did you watch last night’s Golden Globes? Who was on your best-dressed list?

I can hardly wait for the Oscars!

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wait…Natalie Portman is pregnant?! I haven’t watched T.V in ages!

    • I know! I didn’t realize until I’d recently read some of the Black Swan coverage. She’s engaged to the baby’s father, one of the movie’s choreographers. Interesting stuff!

  2. Chris’ speech made me cry…SO stoked for him especially after last year’s bullying headlines.

    One question…how does Anne sit in that dress?! I guess whoever is behind her has the best view in the house!

    • I wonder the exact same thing, sis! Let’s hope for her sake that the chairs provided puh-lenty of coverage. 🙂

    • Hey sis! I’m testing a new “comment reply” plugin I just installed. Would you mind forwarding me the e-mail that you receive about this reply to your comment? Thanks!

  3. I had the same faves as you! Especially Tina Fey. Just stunning. I also thought the entire cast of Glee looked stunning. I can’t wait for the Oscars!

    • So true! I especially loved the Brittany character’s look last night. Need to learn most of their real names! For shame. 🙂

  4. So I might be the only one, but loved Angelina in that beautiful emerald green!

  5. I really liked Scarlett Johannson’s dress and I thought Catherine Zeta Jones looked amazing as always.

  6. […] here’s my 2011 recap Cancel […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

