Creep on in

01/31/2011 at 3:05 pm | Posted in Motherhood, Small Fry | 6 Comments
Tags: , ,

Every night before bed, I simply must do it.

I just won’t feel settled otherwise.

Sneaking into Small Fry’s room has become as routine as brushing my teeth or changing into pj’s. I just have to take one last look at my sweet girl before our day ends. And of course listen to her breathe.

I’ve been performing this ritual every single night, with few exceptions, for almost three straight years.

Some nights, I’ve gotten busted. I used to freeze in place, hoping to blend into the shadows. Or, lunge for the floor and crawl out of her room on my hands and knees.

One time, after I accidentally woke her with my creepy mom death stare, I hit the ground and froze beside her crib. Waiting for the tell-tale steady breathing to resume. After what felt like an eternity, I dared to look up. And what did I see? Two little eyes peering over the crib bumper, like, “crazy lady, what are you doing down there?”

That was back when I didn’t want to wake her. When I’d do ANYTHING for her to just sleep.

But now? It’s much more fun.

I might crawl into her bed to feel her breath on my cheek or wrangle one last snuggle. Or, like last night, she’ll pop up, still asleep, and kiss the air, searching for my face. Or she’ll talk. Unconscious mumblings about Dora or Foofa or the peanut butter and jelly sandwich she ate for lunch.

Sometimes it’s too much to bear and I can’t imagine ever letting her out of my grasp.

But most nights it’s just a sweet little ritual. That I’ll probably repeat until the day we send her off to college.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m the exact same way and I’ve done so many freeze & ducks!!! We put wood laminate flooring in their and unfortunately it can be a little loud when you walk in so I have to try and be super sneaky. I love seeing her sleep 🙂

  2. I peek every single night – multiple times. I secretly want G to wake up so I can snuggle him and get a few more kisses.
    If only you could freeze those moments.
    xo

  3. This post is the perfect description of one of the most blissful benefits of being a mommy. Ive done this for 6 years and I drop and crawl still and love it!

  4. This reminds me of the book by Robert Munch “I Love You Forever”…big time tear jerker but the mom always snuck in the room to snuggle with her son.

  5. I do the same thing. I just can’t go to sleep without seeing my little one sleeping. It is a special mom thing.

  6. Every night. Both kids. At least once. I love that even as they get bigger (5.5 and almost 3, gulp!) they still look like babies when they’re sleeping hard. When I’m in there, I often wonder how old they’ll be when I have to stop doing it, how old they’ll be when we all go to bed at the same time — or (gasp) when they’re going to bed after me.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

