28 weeks: pop goes the belly button!

02/22/2011 at 10:26 am | Posted in pregnancy | 5 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Ah, here we are. That magical time in the third trimester when my belly button takes on a life of its own.

I used to have a cute little “innie.” But sometime in the last few weeks, the top began to nudge out, looking like a little hood that needed an ornament. Even Small Fry noticed and thought it was just hilarious.

Now? The whole thing protrudes from my ever-expanding belly, looking much like a fruit loop trapped under the skin.

It catches people’s eye. But, hey, I guess I should be grateful they’re staring at my innocuous belly button rather than my chest, right? Don’t get me started on the increasing discomfort of underwire. One of life’s greatest pleasures right now is unfastening my bra at the end of the day. Holy relief.

I think my new little friend is funny. I’ve named him Herman. And Small Fry loves him, so what more could I ask for?

Here’s what else makes me happy this week:

Thin Mints and Samoas (thank you sweet lord for the Girl Scouts)
Burt’s Bees bubble baths
walking outside in flip-flops
bulbs about to bloom
Small Fry POOPED in the potty. A big one!
sweet friends
Bojangles and Chick-fil-A (I seriously should become a shareholder in both)
chili dogs
beach trips on the horizon
American Idol (and The Bachelor. There. I said it.)

What’s on your happiness list?

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love that you named your belly button 🙂 Very cute belly shot!
    When i was pregnant i had a love for Girl Scout cookies too 🙂

  2. love the belly shot! love it that SF pooped in the potty! Also love the Bachelor! Not sure who I want to win, but it’s fun watching! Love catching up with you on your blog. 🙂

  3. so cute! i’m quite jealous of all the talk about Girl Scout cookies – i think i am seriously missing out.

  4. Your baby belly is so cute! Mine looked deformed since the baby hung out on one side and my double cheeseburgers hung out on the other.

    B thought my navel protrusion was his baby sister’s nose so he kissed it often. That memory is what I’m loving right now. Thanks for reminding me! :o)

  5. Ah I have Thin Mints and Samoas on order! I can’t wait to get them. YUM! Also, going to the beach this weekend and I SO need it. Can’t wait!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

