You Capture: technology

03/02/2011 at 3:13 pm | Posted in About town, snap happy | 10 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

old radio

I think this is my first You Capture post that doesn’t include a photo of Small Fry. On purpose.

In order to stretch myself a bit more for these photo challenges, I thought it might be a good idea to shy away from my number one photo subject every now and then.

So when Laura and I ventured out to the flea market on a blissfully warm Sunday afternoon, I couldn’t resist snapping shots of what technology used to be. An old transistor radio. A beat-up velvety turntable. Can you imagine a time when these were radical breakthroughs? Kind of like how our great-grandchildren will feel about the iPad.

I wanted to take more, but my stomach prevailed and we had to cut our visit short. Still having a hard time staying up on my feet with this pregnancy. Such a bummer.

The flea market is such fun. Not only for the treasure hunt, but also for the people watching! Next time, I might just have to grab a lemonade and plop myself in a cushy antique chair to watch the action. No one would kick a pregnant lady to the curb, right?

For more technology shots, check out I Should Be Folding Laundry today!

Photobucket

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. nice take on the theme! i’m going to include your transistor radio in my round up of faves this evening at 7:00. check it out! 🙂

    • Cool! Thanks. Can’t wait to check it out!!

  2. I LOVE your technology pictures!

  3. These are great, and innovative! And your post made me laugh because I specifically posted on my blog about how it was hard to figure out how to include my own number 1 photo subjects.

  4. I like how you captured these technology relics, which somehow have a glamor despite the rust and decay.

  5. Oh, these are fun!

  6. Great shots – love the “retro techno.”

  7. I love the colors in these! Seems like so much technology these days is so very black and white. And I love the idea of hunting for technology at a flea market. So creative!

  8. Love the retro technology! Things like that used to be so much prettier!

  9. Browsing through You Capture posts – these are great! Really like the take on the prompt, and these are very cool photos.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

