Capture the Everyday: Small Fry's favorite toy

03/10/2011 at 10:19 am | Posted in Small Fry, snap happy | 13 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Dora the Explorer doll

This is Dora in her natural habitat: smooshed against the wall on Small Fry’s bed. The other place she resides most of the time? In the crook of Small Fry’s arm.

Dora is part of a two-toy team that hardly ever leaves Small Fry’s side. The other half, Teddy, was unavailable for photo (i.e. mommy couldn’t find him). She seriously can’t live without these two. “TeddyandDora” is one word. And bedtime just can’t happen until we locate each of them, along with their assigned blankets.

The best thing about Dora? Besides the fact that she doesn’t talk?

The hair.

It stood on edge when Small Fry plucked her out of the drug store bin after a particularly grueling doctor’s appointment that involved shots. And the hair has only gotten crazier. Especially after a night of toddler snuggles.

Dora the Explorer doll

Dora the Explorer doll

What was your favorite toy growing up? For me, it had to be the Cabbage Patch Kid my parents gave me for Valentine’s Day when I was in the 5th grade. Her name was Amanda. And I loved how she smelled.

For more favorite toys, check out Adventuroo today!

Capture the Everyday from Adventuroo

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love Dora’s ‘do! She’s a favorite character in my house. When I was a kid, I had a teddy bear that went everywhere with me. In fact, he followed me to college and now resides in my daughter’s bedroom (on a shelf, until she’s older).
    I love the pictures that you’ve included with this post. They have a professional quality to them. Dora’s first big photoshoot 🙂

  2. I love the hair, reminds me of my own in the morning.

    I also love that she has :assigned blankets. Our little guy has strong nightly preferences for specific blankets and the order in which you put them on him. I guess you control what you can when you are two.

    Thanks for sharing!

  3. As soon as I saw your picture in Mel’s linky I had to come over because we have that Dora! EVERY single Dora doll we have has what we call, in the most affectionate of ways, Crazy Hair! Love it. 🙂

  4. Love love love her crazy hair! And that she looks so totally loved. Reminds me of my little one’s Elmo. He is a bit worse for wear but all the better for it. Great pics!

  5. I LOVE the pictures. They cracked me up!

  6. I had a Cabbage Patch preemie which I have since passed on to my son. He loves that baby! I love how our kids pick the most unexpected toy as their favorite.

  7. The crazy bed head hair is hysterical!

    (and if I haven’t said so, I heart that you said “SWELLing” on your sidebar. Way cute)

    Thanks for linking up!

  8. Hmm, my favorite…Well, I had this itty bitty Cabbage Patch preemie doll that squeaked when you pressed her belly. She resembled me of my granny a bit. Even thought I got that doll when I was maybe 9 or 10, she stayed on my bed every night until I graduated from high school. I still have her. She’s in a bin in my daughter’s room. She can have her when she stops chewing on things.

  9. I love that Dora has total bed head.
    Is it sad that I can’t really remember my favorite toy? I had a Cabbage Patch doll too but don’t think she was my favorite since I can only remember that her name started with a T.

  10. I have to agree…I think Dora’s hair really makes her! Nothing like bedhead from being loved so much!

    I wonder what my daughter’s favorite toy will be…my mom is ready to give us all the dolls she has that encompasses a span of many years, as there are 5 girl’s in my family…sadly not a Dora in the bunch!

  11. My favorite toys were a teddy bear that originally belonged to my brother (who was 6 when I was born and “too big” for the bear), and a baby doll that looked just liked me. Love Dora’s hair!

  12. I had Muffy, Kim & Bear. They all survived childhood, but only just barely. They are very loved.

  13. That’s some special hair on Dora’s head. Love it! I used to have several Cabbage Patch Kids which I loved to death. You made me remember about their smell (but I can’t really remember what the smell was and it is making me want to go to a toy store to open a box just so I can smell the smell I can’t remember… does that make sense?).
    Bresho has FOUR stuffed animals he cannot live without and it is kind of over the top. I mean, he can’t even hold them all at the same time and if he can and he happens to have to do something, he will get really frustrated because he doesn’t have more arms (and doesn’t want to drop any of his precious “nenes” ). Anyway, love these shots!!
    xxo


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

