32 weeks: fluffing the nest

03/22/2011 at 8:15 am | Posted in baby sunshine, pregnancy | 9 Comments
Tags: , , ,

My newest obsession?

The nursery.

Purging the closet (which is stacked to the ceiling with perhaps every single photo I’ve ever taken), sorting bins of baby clothes, cleaning, making lists.

I can’t get enough!

But I still feel like I’m behind the game. At this point in my last pregnancy, a cute room was nearly ready for Small Fry. Granted, the crib arrived and was assembled just days before she was born, but everything else was set to go, staged like a catalog shoot. Diapers, wipes, butt cream, clean and folded clothes.

I just haven’t felt the same sense of urgency this time around. And, honestly, I’m glad about it. That first experience taught me SO many things, among them being the simple fact that newborn babies really don’t require that much “stuff.”

A place to sleep, milk, clean clothes, diapers, bath soap.

It’s kind of refreshing. But at the same time, I do want to be prepared. To have as little on my plate as possible after baby arrives.

Hence, the maniacal nesting.

Is it nuts that I’m actually having fun with this?

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You look great Suzanne! I wish I could have just a little of your motivation to clean out my own closet! šŸ™‚ Have a good week.

  2. You are gorgeous.
    It’s good to know the second time isn’t as rushed or filled with anxiety.

  3. I love the new pic of you and SF in the upper right corner! Have you picked a nursery theme yet?

    • Thanks! The best way to describe the nursery theme is “waiting-til-we-find-out-if-its-a-girl-or-a-boy.” šŸ™‚ The walls are yellow and the windows will be covered in a gender-neutral IKEA fabric (cheap) that has muted red, green, yellow, turquoise. Crib bedding, wall decor and everything else will wait until we know the baby’s sex. Which means I’m just holding on to the excuse to shop some more. šŸ™‚

  4. You look great and I love that you are nesting! I’m 30 weeks and have been wanting to nest, but I’m waiting for my 2 year old’s new furniture and bedding to arrive before I can set up his new room and then fix up the nursery. In the meantime, I’m cleaning out the closet and dresser for my son’s new room. I sure am going to miss the extra space to store all my stuff! Can’t wait to see pictures of your new nursery.

  5. Great photo!

  6. Love the imagery of fluffing the nest! Enjoy your last weeks preparing & hanging out as a family of three. You’re looking great!

  7. I hear ya Sue…I was definitely more relaxed about things the second time around! We didn’t change our guest room into a nursery until #2 was 10 mons old! She simply slept in her pack-n-play in the guest room when she was little. This allowed us to have our folks stay with & help us when she was small…which was more important to us the second time around. I am however very excited about setting her room up with her new big girl bed in the next month…it is fun making their cute rooms!

  8. Looking good, girly!

    I never really felt the nesting urge, either time. My husband did and I let him have at it!

    Can’t wait to see pictures of the nursery, if you are inclined to share!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

