Capture the Everyday: modern technology

04/07/2011 at 9:21 am | Posted in Bloggy, snap happy | 14 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

It’s confession time.

I ate about half a sleeve of chocolate chip cookies last night. While watching American Idol and really enjoying it (Scotty as Elvis? Oh my heart!). I bribed my kid to eat her green beans at dinner. And I had a little “Oh crap I’m having a baby” freak-out moment, with tears, in the car this morning.

Also? I’m addicted to my new iPhone. Totally, completely addicted.

Hello App Store, my love. I use the Amazon bar scanner just because I can. I downloaded the Cracker Barrel app because you just never know when you’ll need a biscuit and some sweet tea. And the (free!) Skype app made it possible for me to see my family’s faces as we talked last month while I was away at a conference.

So it goes without saying that I did a little jump for joy when I saw this week’s Capture the Everyday photo challenge.

Here she is: technology. Wrapped in a cute little pink sleeve.

woman with iPhone

One of my favorite apps, Hipstamatic, is the very definition of irony. Using modern technology to make photos look old. I love all of the different “lenses” and “film” choices. Here are some Hipsta shots of our blooming yard:

azalea bush

azalea bushes

dogwood tree against blue sky

What’s your favorite gadget? Are you in love with your smart phone too? Or is it just me? Please say it’s not just me.

Capture the Everyday from Adventuroo

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I LOVE LOVE LOVE my android phone. I don’t know i lived without it. Sure its a time waster many times but seriously it rocks!!!

    I’m right there with ya…

  2. I love my phone too. And, I love your Hipstamatic shots.

  3. you should definitely download Instagram – my favorite camera app. šŸ™‚

  4. Half of my kiddo’s life has been captured on my smartphone. I would be absolutely lost without my phone

  5. Your shots are awesome– hipstamatic is awesome! I’m also loving Instagram lately!

    I want a sleeve like yours– I took mine off cause I was bored with it. Need a pretty one!

  6. I’ll be linking up tonight a shot of my android phone! Couldn’t live without it now!

  7. I will see you on the iphone side in about a year my friend šŸ™‚ now that Verizon has the hookup I just have to wait for my plan to renew!

    • YES! We have won the battle over resistant husbands. šŸ™‚

  8. I was reading a blog on my one day old iPhone in the hospital when I stopped for two seconds and thought “huh, that feels funny”. The nurse said I was ready to go. Like, NOW! No two hours of contractions when you’re distracted by your new gadget! My new toy is my iPad which will be loaded down with new goodies to play with while I wait for this next babe to make their appearance. Right now I’m addicted to Pitureka. It’s so lame but I just can’t stop myself.

  9. I’ve had a mad passionate affair with my phone for years. My husband once went to hug me and had to move my phone out of the way. He said he didn’t want to crush my 4000 people on Twitter šŸ™‚

  10. No iPhone here, but mine is a Backflip and when it works I totally enjoy it and find it addictive. For a while when I first got it I had to sit in the car on Twitter and just read and respond BECAUSE I COULD. So I hear ya!

  11. Like you, I’m totally in love with my iPhone!! It’s an amazing device! On short trips, it has replaced my beloved camera! hehe…

    I used to use the Hipstamatic app quite a fair bit too but these days, I love the Pudding camera app (it’s a Korean app)!

    • Cool — will definitely check out Pudding. I’m all for discovering new camera apps! Thanks!!

  12. Love your little belly shot! I agree, I could not live without my iphone. I mean how else am I going to waste 53 hours- yes 53 (mostly at night after the house goes to sleep) playing those damn angry birds??


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

