Mom

04/10/2011 at 10:10 pm | Posted in family, Love, Motherhood | 6 Comments
Tags: , ,

This weekend I received one of the best gifts you could possibly give a pregnant-woman-who-is-also-mother-to-a-toddler: SLEEP.

From my mom.

At first I resisted her suggestion because, in all likelihood, a slumber party with Nonna means that Nonna would not slumber much. But Mom insisted. And I caved. (Note to self: try to start accepting such offers gracefully).

But grace is definitely not one of my shining qualities right now, at 35(!) weeks pregnant. I’m cranky. Snippy. Whiny. And, most lovely of all, gassy.

And simply because she’s my mother, and she’ll love me no matter how much crap I dish out, she sees a lot of the less savory Suzanne. Too much, really.

And she still wants to hang out with me.

So with the men in our lives out of town this weekend, we three gals hunkered down at Mom’s house Saturday night. Small Fry and Mom shared a room. Secluded upstairs, I slept for seven straight hours for the first time in I don’t know how long. Then I slept for two more. And had a wonderful hot breakfast, followed by shopping, then a wonderful lunch.

And my eyes opened a little more to just how awesome my mother is. And how loved and blessed I am.

I’m so very, very grateful.

toddler with grandmother

 

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. awww thats lovely ๐Ÿ™‚ what a great mom!

  2. So nice! Some of my best childhood memories are sleepovers with my grandmother. Apparently they started way before I even remember them, but what I do remember is watching Hee Haw in the evenings, sometimes with dinner on tv trays,visiting my best friend (who lived next door), sleeping in my Nana’s bed with the comforting whir of the window-unit air-conditioner blowing beside me, and then waking up to breakfast, a visit to the beauty parlor for her weekly hair-do (me happily reading my book with a snack of peanutbutter on Ritz crackers and a bottle of Coca-Cola), and then going out for lunch afterwards. I bet Small Fry will cherish her own memories with Nonna–there is nothing like the love of a grandparent (or a mom)! ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you got some good sleep! Rest up, lady!!

  3. So glad that you were able to get some much needed rest.Take all the help you can get now and after little munchkin comes along. Can’t wait until the new arrival !!! Love to you and the family.

  4. That is fantastic! I’m sure Small Fry loved it too!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. that is awesome. much needed rest. much needed Nonna-time!

  6. God bless mothers! I don’t know what I would do without mine! She’s always coming to my rescue.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

