Sunshine

04/21/2011 at 9:44 am | Posted in Belly to Butterfly | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

(This post was written by my sister Laura, who authors this lovely blog).

Every night as I rock O to sleep I sing to her, “You Are My Sunshine.”

As I was doing our usual routine last night, song included, I thought about the words…at least the ones I know (i.e. the chorus)…and how they’re so fitting for where O’s at these days.

Last night at dinner, she didn’t feel like eating, or didn’t want what we were serving, or whatever else was going on in her head, so she threw her fork at me.  This was after she turned over Sandwich’s water bowl for the umpteenth time and then sang a chorus of “no’s” before I could.  This morning, when she woke up, I went to give her my customary kiss and got her hand to my mouth and a high-pitched “no.”  Yesterday she sat on my lap, as she loves to do, but this time I wasn’t allowed to touch her with my arms or hands…I was merely her La-Z-Boy.

It’s hard to have patience. It’s hard to not take it personally.  It’s hard not to put her out on the front stoop as I do with Sandwich when he’s clawing the couch.

I don’t really feel like talking much else about it because I know what it is and I know how important it is for her to be here, developing her independence and testing the waters, but it still stinks.

So, to O, as she gets ready for another day, I quietly say,

“You are my sunshine.
My only sunshine.
You make me happy when skies are gray.
You’ll never know dear how much I love you.
So please don’t take my sunshine away.”

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Little Ms. Independent 🙂 It’s funny what kids can do when it comes to their independence (funny and exhausting at the same time). Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

