38 weeks: when big sister is near

05/02/2011 at 8:46 am | Posted in baby sunshine, pregnancy | 20 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

It’s probably just a fluke. Or a response to the fact that I’m reading Small Fry a book or singing her to sleep. But whenever we lie down together and snuggle up, the baby starts wiggling like crazy.

Usually Small Fry has her little legs tucked up against my belly, and when she feels those movements, she always shrieks with joy, yanks up my shirt and scooches down to put her hand on my belly.

It’s awesome. And I’m going to miss it.

I always tell Small Fry, “baby knows you’re nearby and loves you so much,” which delights her. She’s been talking to my belly for quite a while, and this little bedtime ritual seems to be creating a bond between the two.

Two. Two kids.

I cannot wait for them to meet.

20 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Just a beautiful, beautiful picture. So much love!

    • Thanks, sis! We had fun. The outtakes are keepers, too. πŸ™‚

  2. this picture is absolutely perfect. it should win an award. Or be framed in a huge frame. HUGE. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Grace! I’d been wanting to try to capture this moment forever, and I feel like I’m running out of time. So glad it worked. πŸ™‚

  3. That’s a self portrait, huh?!?! I love it!

    • Yep! It took me about 500 attempts, but I got a bunch of fun (although blurry) shots out of it!

  4. This is an absolutely beautiful photo! Congrats on your new baby!

  5. Oh this took my breath away.
    So perfect.

  6. Totally and utterly adore this picture!!!

  7. that is the sweetest picture ever! and a lovely post!

  8. that picture and the just the whole thing is adorable. love it. how sweet!!!

  9. Oh man, SUCH a sweet picture! Love it!

  10. I love it!! I hope as we get closer to the due date, Oscar will be able to feel the baby move. What a sweet moment!

  11. This is such a beautiful picture – worth way more than 1,000 words!

  12. oh, wow, best photo ever taken. Please frame this NAOW. it is beyond beautiful.

  13. I think I can safely say that is the most precious picture I have seen in a while.

  14. That is one of the best pregnant belly photos I have ever seen! So beautiful and joyful!

  15. I won’t lie…
    I’m totally living vicariously through your pregnancy. There. I admited it.

  16. What a precious photo and sweet moments you are sharing. Just wait until they meet! The look in baby’s eyes when he/she meets their sister will be incredible? Like “hey, I remember your voice. I know you! And I love you!”

  17. What a lovely photo! Wondering what the age gap is between your two. I am expecting my 2nd in about 4/5 weeks and my son is 1 yr and 10 months. Trying to get him to grips a little bit with the fact that he will have a little sister soon but he doesn’t seem that interested πŸ™‚ He has started putting his hands on my tummy though when the baby kicks. Good luck for the next few weeks!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

