One month: learning, remembering

06/07/2011 at 2:09 pm | Posted in baby sunshine, Motherhood | 9 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Sophie is one month old today!

I feel like we just got home from the hospital. And in so many other ways, especially as one sleepless night blurs into another, time seems to stretch out before us ever so s-l-o-w-l-y.

Since Sophie is baby number two, my brain is filling up with all sorts of new information. But at the same time, I find myself tapping into long-forgotten reserves of newborn baby knowledge. It’s kind of neat, being a rookie and a veteran at the same time.

I’m learning:

– how to be patient — really, really patient

– that my first child still loves me, no matter what

– that there is nothing wrong with supplementing with formula, especially when the baby is hungry ALL THE TIME

– how it feels for my milk to come in (like a thousand tiny daggers)

– that it wasn’t the best idea to publish on the internet how easy my baby is after just one week of age (or ever, really)

– that experience has given me confidence

– what Sophie’s poo face looks like (versus the “I’m hungry” face and the “I’m just plain pissed” face)

– that a day can become immensely better with just one sweet smile or hug from Lily

– to let go of expectations

I’m remembering:

– that every single day is completely different from the one before

– that once we figure something out, that technique can fall flat the very next time

– what sleep deprivation, frustration and hot tears on my cheeks in the middle of the night feel like

– how awesome it feels to have a baby snoring away on my chest

– that my husband is amazing with a newborn baby

– that time is flying by and I’d better quit wishing it away because before I know it, Sophie will be 16 and breaking curfew

– that nothing good comes from comparing myself to other moms or Sophie to other babies (especially the ones who sleep through the night at two weeks old)

– that, no matter how hard this is right now, it’s simply awesome

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. There are babies that sleep through the night at 2 weeks old?! Where can I get one of those?

    Ian didn’t until 10 months. I won’t expect anything less from baby #2 ;).

  2. two beautiful grandaughters, an “amazing” father for my only son, a sensitive and lovely angel for a daughter-in-law, two recent self-conducted, water-bourne visits to key west (bayliner, name: cavu), my only daughter soon to be a strapping 39 years young and gorgeous as ever (missing you lots sweetheart amy frances), plus many more such fine blessings…what more can a guy on permanent vacation ask for ?

  3. Sounds like you’re doing great at 1 month! Amazing how much more enjoyable it is the second time around, right?! (notice I said “enjoyable” instead of “easy”) Good luck, and just know that sleep is coming sooner than you think!

  4. Happy 1 month Sophie Muriel! You and your mom are just amazing…so glad you’re both nearby.

  5. At this time last year I was writing the 1 month post. Now? That 1-month-old is 13 months! Try your best to soak up those fleeting moments. She’s adorable!

  6. just plain beautiful. this post, you, and both your girls!!!

    so much love for ye. thank you for sharing your wonderful journey with us!

    XOXOXO!!!

  7. I love this post. As a second-time mom-to-be in just a few short weeks, it’s nice to be reminded that I’m not starting from scratch and do have a *little* experience under my belt. And there still will be plenty of tears (from everyone) but we can do it šŸ™‚ Beautiful post!

  8. You and your girls are just beautiful. What a wonderful bond you’re all making.

    And the picture of the feet took my breath away. I’d forgotten about those skinny little legs that had been bent up for so long. They are precious.

  9. Beautiful! I just love how we still learn even though we’ve already done it once. It’s exhausting and exhilarating at the same time.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

